Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Many Ninjas

by Parappa - Jam Entry

Sorry, but I decided to ignore the theme this time and make a game about ninjas. Because ninjas.

This is a simple Incremental genre style game, and if you're curious about this kind of thing, there are a ton of good links on Reddit. I recommend Cookie Clicker, Coin Box Hero, and A Dark Room, but there are lots of other great ones.

http://www.reddit.com/r/incremental_games

Big thanks to Korba for his iconic Block Ninja sprites!

http://opengameart.org/content/block-ninja-2d-sprites

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#50Humor(Jam)3.75
#57Fun(Jam)3.74
#434Overall(Jam)3.15
#546Graphics(Jam)2.95
#633Innovation(Jam)2.53
#756Theme(Jam)1.67
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30pm

nice twist to the clicking game. really good entry. gj

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Well I like the game but since it doesn't have anything to do with the theme...

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31pm

That's even more awesome than cookie clicker! :D

PLUNDER ALL THE RICE ^^

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00pm

http://i.imgur.com/jsdHszk.png I have to admit it is a little bit adicting

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Well that's a lot of ninjas ! Really cool, really addictive, more than cookie clicker in my opinion.

dkkarate says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27am

I got to 1.7e+80 ninjas. fun and very addicting :) I wish it had more to do with the theme though.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19am

Ha. Definitely reminds me of Cookie Clicker. Great job.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:26am

That's awesome! :) Presumably at some point the world consisted mostly of ninjas and rice :D

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30am

Nice entry, but I don't see connection with theme.

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43am

I just played for like an hour. Nothing to do with the theme, but super fun!

gamehelp16 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11pm

A nice incremental game! Like it :D

jurnacsr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Fun little game you have here - I love the incremental games as well! Nothing to do with the theme, but there are worse things.

Parappa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Reddit discussion happening here, for anyone interested,

http://www.reddit.com/r/incremental_games/comments/2ek27h/many_ninjas_my_incremental_game_entry_for_ludum/

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:52pm

This game made me lol

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:21am

crazy amount of ninjas!
Played it for longer than most games so far, but as others have mentioned, not really connected to the theme.
Highly addictive though

slumber says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:26am

I tried this game because my eyes were drawn to the colors and the art style. I can't say I enjoyed it though. I sat there just clicking the mouse over and over on the harvest rice till I had hundreds. So I bought some upgrades and more troops. Did some attacks. But I got bored super fast. Just not for me I guess.

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:32am

A nice cookie-clicker, though not sure about the whole theme-abandoning thing...

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:37am

Oh god, another cookie clicker. Welp, there goes another couple of hours of my day. I don't know why these types of games are so hypnotizing, but ether way good job. I was entirely enthralled. Also loved the fact that the game plays itself after you max out everything. XD

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:02am

Does it ever end? I got to around 1.00e+102 hahaha Very clever mechanics and funny to play, even if not tied to the theme. Great job!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Hi there. These clickerbox games are terrifying... even when you know what it is, when you have read about the design principles and the psychology behind it, you still play them for a while... just to see how smooth the animation stays ;) Good job!

Saphyre says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Connected worlds ?

Moosefly says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:35pm

The amount of rice I had turned negative for a while after buying an upgrade. These increment games are just too damn addicting, also played to the 10^100:s :P. The mechanics you added to the Cookie Clicker formula also worked nicely.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

TaoPhoenix says ...
Nov 10, 2014 @ 9:52am

It's my first clicker game in a long while, so the novelty was good for me. I got to the e120's and let it go there too.

That seems to be the spot, after about an hour and change.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]