Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cesarino's Friendly Interplanetary Delivery Service

by ZYXer - Jam Entry

You are the new delivery boy of Cesarino's Friendly Interplanetary Delivery Service.
Carry out the company's deliveries while ramming and shooting down the
competition's delivery ships.

Visit any planet with a ring to accept a delivery mission. The laser cannon will be
unlocked when you reach level 2. The goal of the game is to reach level 8.


IMPORTANT

If you have a low frame rate or the game feels sluggish, try playing the game
in another browser.


NOTES

I wanted to submit this game for the compo, but I ran out of time. I had planned
several features which would have made the gameplay more varied. But I didn't
get around to implement them, so the game might be a bit monotonous.

The game complies with compo rules, with the exception that I submitted it
within 72 hours.

If you can't hear anything, don't worry. There is no sound. ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#129Fun(Jam)3.53
#178Theme(Jam)3.59
#210Overall(Jam)3.45
#240Graphics(Jam)3.73
#352Humor(Jam)2.48
#354Mood(Jam)3.13
#435Innovation(Jam)2.95
#637Audio(Jam)1.73

Comments

mlabarca says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08am

Nice game!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:35am

It's so fun bumping into things, especially after upgrading your engine. Nice gamplay and funny physics.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:39am

Reminds me of Solar 2. Really liked the parallax stars.

Snoother says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:58pm

That was really fun. And the physics made the game kind of comedic (in a good way) -- all the bumping into planets and what not. That's not to say the controls aren't tight; they certainly are.

More variety would be nice, however. But considering the goal is only to reach level 8, the game doesn't really overstays its welcome.

Karlux says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Even better than Gravity the movie! Beautiful design! The color of the planets and the details of the spaceships are great. Fun to play! Liked the sky with the planets slowing down when you stop accelerating. Friendly goal transporting load from planet to planet. Fun to stir between other spaceships, trying not to bump into them! I felt the infinity and darkness of space after playing. Feeling of being an astronaut. Really a great game! Congrats!

Karlux says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Theme chosen: interplanetary delivery service. Funny and original.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:06am

this is a brilliant game. it's crazy taxi in space, with laser cannons. in retrospect, it didn't need the laser cannons; it was great without them. my only complaint was that something about it gave me motion sickness. excellent game. nicely done.

Tosic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Really fun, but are there any sounds?

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

was gitching real bad might of been my pc but it was real slow

ZYXer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:16pm

@KingBolonzo: I tested it on an old laptop and had 50 fps. Did you try another browser?

Does someone else have this problem?

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:59am

nice, very smooth gameplay and cool concept

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:21am

nice, but i wish there was sound.

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:58pm

I think I may have developed a serious case of road rage thanks to this game... I just wanted to get the bonus so badly!!

Aomeas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Controls are smooth but the gameplay is kinda repetitive
The mood is good, with parallax scrolling <3

grillaface says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Well done! Really smooth and fun to play. Would love some audio!

Aaants says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:30pm

That was cool! I was expected something rubbish or broken based on your comment on my game - but it's none of that. Impressive to make such a range of good graphics, too.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Great game! However I reached level 8 and nothing happened. And then from level 5-6 it gets quite repetitive, since you are waiting for something new to happen that never gets there. But amazing effort for a ludum dare game. Well done!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Lack of audio kind of hurts this game a bit but this was quite a fun entry to play and the parallax effect you had for the stars was just amazing.

sbarrio says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Nice game!, I like the idea and I found the star background effect to be very well done. Good job :)

smbe19 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Is there even a way to lose?

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:06pm

lots of really nice polish on this, lots of cool attention to detail. impressive work

brookman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:51pm

A fellow Swiss game dev? :O
Nice game! I liked the idea and polished graphics. It was fun to play and upgrade the ship! The camera movement made me a little sick though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]