Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Delivery

by Cheshyr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*** IF THE BUTTONS DON'T WORK ***

Click to another tab, then click back and select the game window. It's an issue with Chrome.

Or, try IE. Both have resolved the issue for me.

***

You are part of a delivery service gathering both the strange and mundane for your clients. Learn to recognize the style of resource each planet type provides to save on energy. See how long you can stay in space.

I had more gameplay mapped out, but 48 hours is always shorter than I expect, even after bloodying the hatchet. Point and click, using the new Unity3D 4.6 beta UI tools.

The tuning is wrong, so it's unlikely you'll make it past 1 delivery. Sorry for that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#204Humor3.00
#636Audio2.56
#690Mood2.83
#790Innovation2.84
#870Theme2.74
#878Graphics2.58
#977Overall2.76
#978Fun2.53

Comments

LesInk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46am

Could not play. Clicked on options Quit and Play and neither did anything.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:50am

@LesInk I've been noticing that a lot with all Unity Webplayer games this evening. Very strange. Will see if there's anything I can do on deployment options.

Chris Maire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51am

I also couldn't click Play or Quit.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56am

I checked on a couple other computers. After the game loads the first time, hit Refresh. That should solve the problems with the new UI elements not registering clicks. Sorry for the trouble.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59am

Nice GUI demo. Funny descriptions. Will there be a continuation?

P.S. Many LD Unity games do not work under Chrome. if you run them under IE and it will work.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09am

@BloodJohn Thanks for the tip. That seems to fix the issue as well.

I had quite a bit more planned, in case I made it that far, but in the end I spent too much time re-learning Unity after 8 months away. Didn't even get the planet resources balanced right. :-p I'll consider expanding it as intended depending on the response here.

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33am

Cool idea, kinda reminds me of an extremely simplified Gazillionaire. I apparently am not good at remembering the types of resources each planet had and was only ever able to make one delivery. Lots of potential though.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29am

Nice and simple.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43am

One delivery and I lose...I fail at the memorization. Need to use some association like "Red is coolaid"... although I think it was green?... shit this is why I suck at this.

some of the entries were pretty funny, like ritual dagger "only used once" LOL!

Haha, anyway gj!

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Cute little game, I really enjoyed it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Hm, game doesn't load on first open, hangs when I refresh. :/

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50pm

I'm going to have to recommend IE at this point. I don't know why Chrome doesn't play nice with the Unity Web Player.

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

This is just really fun to play and oddly addictive, one of the few LD entries I've played that were both simple, yet had some strategy to them. So well presented too, good job!

tbam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

Got to two deliveries. Was pretty fun, decent timekiller

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:04am

Interesting concept... the feeling it gave me is similar to the game where you have to flip over 2 of the same tile at the same time, and turn mis-matches back over.

Just for your info, it worked great in Chrome for me.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:41am

Interesting, but I think some of the items in categories need to more strictly adhere to the category type; some of the items could have gone either way.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Yeah, sorry for that. That content went in during the last 60 minutes. Categories are roughly Mineral, Organic, Tech, and Mysticism, associated with Red, Green, Blue, and Purple base colors.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Nearly made it to two deliveries... I was just missing one item. :(

It's too bad the tuning is off, I really like the the item-collecting part, reminds me of CCG games. The collecting aspect could be even more interesting if the individual resources had different rarity values. Or if each item had a different weight and you could only carry a certain amount.

The items' descriptions are really funny. Well done!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Thanks. I had a lot of ideas, but I think the two most critical unimplemented features were multiple items per planet (of the same category), and some players influenced small scale energy regeneration mechanism. That would have made the game quite a bit more playable. Next time.

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

Interesting mechanics, but for me, it felt more randomness than skill. Maybe i just suck haha. Good job, man!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:57am

Nah,I screwed it up, and it is a little to random-heavy. Thanks for giving it a shot. :-)

Benjamin says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Do you randomze the item / planets color in the same play between to delivery ? Because I had grain on 2x different colors in the same game ( not same delivery )

Cheshyr says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:39pm

The base colors were likely the same. I do randomize the secondary colors of the plants, but each planet has a base color of red, green, blue or purple. I don't believe it's possible for them to overlap, but green and blue can probably get pretty close to each other, and all colors can get pretty close to black.

kristof says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:55pm

I liked the mood. Didn't figure out at first that it's about remembering colours (because I read your tutorial here afterwards :). The atmosphere kept me clicking through it, though I didn't manage to beat the first stage. Nice idea!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Hi there. Love the planets fly into view animation. Very funny selection of products, and their descriptions!

CodeNMore says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:10pm

This was a neat and simple concept!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:26am

This was really fun! It could make for a perfect mobile app with some more tuning and slightly nicer graphics.

Cheshyr says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:51am

I hadn't considered the mobile possibility. Hrm. Good idea!

osthekake says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:14pm

I played this a bunch of times, I really enjoyed it. Made it up to 5 deliveries and now I'm going to spend the rest of the night pretending that's a lot. Great work!

kyru says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:25am

Neat idea, a little boring but I like what is there.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:36am

I think this is the one of the few times someone has recommended IE to fix a problem over Chrome. I enjoyed that :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]