Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Out of the Office

by tove - Jam Entry

Joe Warden is worried about his daughter Helena, who has recently disappeared. Through a stroke of luck, he has just gained access to Helena's computer. What clues can be found in Helena's personal files?

(A very short game, and hopefully an introduction to a longer work.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Innovation(Jam)4.26
#39Mood(Jam)4.00
#147Overall(Jam)3.58
#193Fun(Jam)3.38
#398Graphics(Jam)3.35
#436Theme(Jam)3.05
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07am

That's one hell of a cake story! :] I dig the ARG approach- you don't see that a lot.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:25am

it's an interesting concept, and a crazy ambitious idea for a jam game, but it clearly needs a lot more stuff to be fleshed out enough to truly work.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:23am

I think I got it. What was before, cake or recipe? Nice entry!!

aneeslol says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:54am

Neat idea, although it did feel a little creepy, haha.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:13am

Felt a bit uncomfortable, at first I thought you made some mistake and shared more than you wanted to for this submission, then I saw the screenshot of the pictures and realized it's all part of the plan. Brilliant idea :)

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:11am

Jimbo Wales writing a reference entry for Singlets? Hahah! Clever going all throughout. Really felt like a super sleuth cracking the code to the private video. There wasn't enough info to draw a clear picture of the story, but I enjoyed my time in there. Well done.

tcarter says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:20am

Really interesting! Spent the first 20 minutes or so trying to figure out if Sandstorm was real, though.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:30am

Holy crap this was smart game.
A detective story in the computer.
Great meta and gameplay!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:33am

Pretty clever and really really cool!

Nut says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:29am

This is amazing! Love the simrob easter egg. I'm not sure if I've done everything or not; I've found a couple of unlockable, uh, things (trying not to spoil), but they were almost identical except for a bit in the middle, and it didn't give me a clear direction to gofrom there.

tove says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Hi Nut --
You've got all the content. There might be some additional insight if you look into the real-world history of the site, but this is basically an intro and as such there isn't yet anywhere to go from there. I do have some thoughts as to where I want the plot to go, so fingers crossed and maybe there will be more in the future. :) (I see we're friends-of-friends, so I'm happy to discuss on Twitter/email if you're curious where I see the plot going.)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:32am

horribly fecking lost, but love this originality and effort. kudos......What cake is it?

radmars says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Really really awesome concept, I love this. (semi-spoiler) The password for the second video doesn't seem to work though, I swear I figured it out correctly and put it in right...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]