Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chain Champs

by YukonW - Jam Entry

Fight to save your planet from the enemy planet in-which it is literally chained to in this multiplayer brawler! Use gravity as your weapon as you launch crates at each other and collect powerups to increase your stance in the fight!

Music by Harrs: https://soundcloud.com/harrs (Thanks again Harrs!)

Thanks for looking at Chain Champs!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Theme(Jam)3.68
#159Humor(Jam)3.06
#173Fun(Jam)3.42
#202Overall(Jam)3.47
#229Innovation(Jam)3.32
#236Graphics(Jam)3.74
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#507Mood(Jam)2.87
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

leafarz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:14am

had fun playing this with a friend!
great mechanic and powerups although sometimes there happens a time when i don't die even if the box hit my player.
really enjoyed the game! keep it up!

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19pm

I think it's nice, but the music can be a bit annoying after 5 minutes

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09pm

I really like the art work for this. the colors are awesome!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:26pm

nice art but the music and sounds are a little too loud ^^'

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Hey my game has loud music too :D Yours is way better than mine... cool idea... nice artworks... needed a little bit to teach myself playing it vs myself (left side brain vs right side brain) Good work

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

Don't have someone to play with at the moment, but I can tell it would be a blast with a friend. the art is colorful and lively

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Hi there. Like the tabletop approach. Only solo tested but the interface seems smooth and squishing the opposition was fun. Sounds appropriate. Good job!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:24pm

The game is cool, but for persons like me (who haves no friends ;_;) it would be cool to have online multiplayer.

Sorry for repeating what Bruno said, but I felt exactly the same way.

Macocco says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:09am

Sadly I had nobody around to play this with but I imagine it to be really fun! I liked the graphics and you had a pretty unique idea for approaching the theme. Audio got a bit annoying over time but everything else was great! I think you should develop this a little further. (Maybe it'll have online multiplayer with team fights and leveling up and all that jazz one day xD)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]