Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

SpaceWorlds

by dtruby - Jam Entry

Red planets harm you; green planets heal you if you press E

DEPENDENCIES:
sfml2.1 (Linux and OS/X)
boost

CREDITS:

Programmers
=========
@WGDSoc:
Richard Perry
David Truby (@DavidTruby)
Jamie Bayne (@quaIiaa)
Alex Dixon (@Alexbrainbox)
Chris Leonard (@VeltasV)

Art
==
Richard Perry
Chris Leonard

Sound
====
Jamie Bayne

Tools Used
=======
Xcode
vim
Sublime Text 3
Photoshop Elements
Inkscape
GIMP
Pinta
Paint.net
PyxelEdit
Ardour
zynaddsubfx
Hydrogen
Audacity
bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#354Audio(Jam)3.14
#364Graphics(Jam)3.43
#561Mood(Jam)2.76
#657Theme(Jam)2.30
#682Overall(Jam)2.72
#703Fun(Jam)2.30
#744Innovation(Jam)1.95

Comments

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46am

Very typical and classic game

damrem says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Can't run it on Windows 8...

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Couldn't run the mac version

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Worked for me on Windows 7. It was fun but very hard to aim. I ended up getting a lot of points by sitting on a green planet and mashing the A, E, and Space keys. Love the music, and the pixelized graphics are quite good too!

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53pm

As your first entry in the Ludum Dare Jam, that's a pretty neat game! I like the fact that the mechanics are simple and solid; the game feels very polished overall. Also, the graphics are enjoyable too. Hope you partecipate to the next competition, maybe adding some more depth to your game, like an objective, or some way to improve gameplay, such as upgrades or other things. Anyway, good work!

LesInk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:59am

Nice shooter game. Like the use of the planets. Would have loved a bit more of a 'wave' objective, but definitely a very good start and well built space game.

lytedev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:00am

Really hard to aim - controls in general feel really weird. A simple, but fun game otherwise.

LesInk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:00am

Nice shooter game. Like the use of the planets. Would have loved a bit more of a 'wave' objective, but definitely a very good start and well built space game. Oh, but I didn't like it closing when you died.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

Simple and clean :) Congrats!

plash says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

The usual space shooter. Movement is pleasing. Graphics are fitting. Music is thorough and expressive; no annoying repetition. The one fuss I'll raise is lack of feedback: there are no fire sounds or damage sounds for the player or the enemies. (This may be a bug; I do see shoot_sound.wav in the assets, but I've never heard it in-game.)

While being a solid concept, this offers little compelling challenge.

Nitpicks:

- The game should not quit when the player dies (according to qualia, this is normal, despite lookup errors on my Ubuntu). Show me my final score and offer to restart.
- I should be able to press space at the title screen to start the game. The mouse is used nowhere else in the control scheme.


P.S. To programmers: I get an undefined destructor lookup for sf::Image::~Image() when the player dies, followed by the game closing. My system is Ubuntu 14.04 x86_64 with SFML 2.1 from the Ubuntu repositories. My word of advice: always build against stable or bundle your libraries. Running through GDB, the process still exits normally. Here's the error verbatim:

symbol lookup error: ./SpaceWorlds: undefined symbol: _ZN2sf5ImageD1Ev

gnx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:09pm

It does happen in space and there are worlds, so everything as advertised. Gameplay I can characterize best as "being there", and the game closing itself upon game over creates a poignant end. Music is nice.

ripter says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:58am

SpaceWorlds-osx-x86_64/SpaceWorlds ; exit;
dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/local/lib/libsfml-system.2.dylib
Referenced from: SpaceWorlds-osx-x86_64/SpaceWorlds
Reason: image not found
[1] 8886 trace trap SpaceWorlds-osx-x86_64/SpaceWorlds

[Process completed]

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:00am

Cute music, excellent controls. Very fun shooter game to play.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:30am

Great audio! Agree with the others that having some sort of goal would help :)

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:34am

eh. Good graphics, very reminiscent of top-quality 90's shareware. Controls are iffy: brilliant acceleration marred by turgid rotation. Pleasing sound, but not great. Needs an actual long-term goal.

slumber says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:34am

Good space shooter. Well executed with some good momentum physics. The audio got annoying fast and I didn't like that the game closes when u die.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Not bad!

pansapiens says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:42am

I like the planet pixel art, great music and the feel of the ship control is pretty nice. Design-wise, what I think would make it better is if (1) red planets were insta-death so flying around needs to be more accurate and dangerous (2) make green planets become depleted after some amount of shield recharge (10% ? 20% ?) - this would force the player to go seeking green planets, rather than just camping around one and shooting stuff.

cardboard says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:34pm

The pixel art and audio are nice, and give the game a good atmosphere. As already mentioned, there needs to be both an incentive to leave the comfort of the green worlds and an incentive to continue playing the game after the initial "newness" of everything wears off. I found the rotation to be a bit wonky, but I got used to it after a while. I managed to get 100 before I stopped playing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]