Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Timehop

by Lord bobyness - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second Ludum Dare. It's a puzzle game where the central mechanic is the ability to travel between two points in time (the connected worlds). Actions taken in the past will affect the future state of objects but not vice versa.

Escape ends the game, everything else is shown in game

I got a bit pressured for time and had to make an ending and go to debugging a bit earlier then I would have liked. The resulting game is a tad short and a tad easy.

Anyways, hope you enjoy it.

Have fun!

BTW if you have anything constructive to say please do leave a comment. Ratings aren't unappreciated but comments are what help me improve.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#340Mood3.25
#379Overall3.38
#417Theme3.43
#422Innovation3.33
#482Audio2.81
#575Fun3.03
#630Humor2.22
#723Graphics2.86

Comments

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03am

Download link does not work.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25am

Thanks for informing me! It's fixed now.

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

Fun game, nice graphics, sad that its so epileptic, all those flashes, such loud noise...

Chris Maire says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:08am

I found opening doors to be kinda frustrating since you can't explicitly target them, and it took me a while to figure out what things were doors since everything was the same color.

That said, the mechanics were really neat and there is a lot of potential here.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21am

Pretty fun game. The only issue I had was closing the game. I had to end the process in task manager.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30am

Escape closes it. I guess I did forget to mention that at, well. At any point in time or space really. If you guessed escape and it still didn't close then that's an issue I'll have to look into.

Thanks for letting me know.

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Very good concept exploit with the different mechanics. Maybe having a different aesthetic between the two time periods so we can tell which is the present and which is the past. The collisions with the walls aren't precise so we often get semi stuck. But overall that's very fun. I liked the ending.

abeing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:09pm

i liked it very much :) cool door mechanics

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:12am

Like the graphics, and innovation!

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:48am

Fun game and a cool concept, I thoroughly enjoyed playing it. The music and audio all-together was very nice as well.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Well done! I'm really glad to see these dual-world puzzle games and this one is pretty good. Easy, as you mentioned, but still enjoyable.

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

I like the concept, it was a creative way to meet the theme and it made for some good gameplay.

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

Pretty interesting game. I liked the use of time travel as a tie-in to the theme. I got pretty far, but then got stuck by the detector, and couldn't figure a way out of it. Nice work :)

radmars says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:18am

Wow, this is an awesome concept. I like how the level design wraps around itself in spots. I felt like it was pretty solvable by trial and error rather than fully understanding what I was doing though.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:56am

Pretty nice. There are a couple of bits with adjacent opposite time locks that can cause some quick flashing, which is a bit bothersome.

jprogman says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:41am

The logic of the past and future took some getting used to, but I was able to finish the game with little effort. So there's a slight learning curve, but the game itself was well put!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]