Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Colorshift

by Andrew Adams - Jam Entry

Colorshift -
Once the worlds were balanced and connected. It is now your mission to reconnect them.

Please comment if you experience any of the following symptoms:
Rage, Anger, Joy, Happiness, Jubilation, Excitement, Lust, or Bugs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#29Theme(Jam)4.03
#35Innovation(Jam)4.02
#36Fun(Jam)3.87
#52Overall(Jam)3.92
#88Audio(Jam)3.75
#147Mood(Jam)3.58
#350Graphics(Jam)3.47
#352Humor(Jam)2.48

Comments

Eli says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Nice idea and music :) I like it :)

acerunox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Oh. My. God. That idea. That music. AWESOME!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:08pm

mechanics were solid, and it was a blast. music was good too!

Flyinpig5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Best game I've played this LD! Awesome music, graphics, gameplay and is nicely linked with the theme!

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Great Game! Really good idea and well executed. The music was great

pinion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Cool idea, nice music.

I keep making mistakes and switching to the wrong color :D

I did not feel rage or lust but I am commenting anyway.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10pm

This game rules.

rooter4 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Really cool game, great mechanics and a bit of a challenge.

sylarisbest says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Really like the music and the idea neat. Good job.

vandriver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16pm

I started with almost the same idea, except using orange/purple etc for mixed colors. parallax is a much better implementation. I didn't like having to cycle through colors and its clunkiness is part of why I abandoned the idea. No way around that, though. Everything else is extremely well done here. I enjoyed it a lot. And yeah, music was awesome.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Wow that was amazing! I got stuck on the part where you have to jump and change color but wow that was fun! I gave you a super high score. I think you could've had a better thumbnail pic though.

MaesK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Whoa, excellent idea! Nice music, nice Megaman-like sprite, and a great mechanic. Good work!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Thanks everyone.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:05pm

This was fun, I liked the layering of the colours. Also, good music! Well done

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:07pm

This game made me chuckle several times, mostly while falling off the screen. I liked the music and the concept.

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Really enjoyed your game, keep on rockin dude !

Pesty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33pm

I came to your game for all the wrong reasons - but definitely the best game i've see so far

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35pm

super stylish cool game... like the music too...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46pm

This is pretty cool! I've seen color-switching mechanics like this plenty of time before, but here you really work it into the aesthetic of the level in a cool way.

It is pretty challenging, but doesn't feel impossible, which is good. So far I've only made it to world 2.

Only complaint is the control layout feels a bit funny to me - i think i'd rather use WASD to run and jump and the other hand to switch colors.

Overall really good though, well done!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09am

@Cake_Catastrophe you can play using the arrow keys also.

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51am

This is a great game! The mechanics are interesting and the implementation was very smooth.

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:01am

It's a really good idea and it's really well realised. It's really fun!
By the way, I found an exploit. If in world 1 you switch colors while you are in the rising fase of a jump, you can make that jump way bigger and exit out of the level borders(for example I used it to walk on top of a roof).

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:11am

This game rocks!!! Great game mechanics and use of theme.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24am

Thanks for pointing that out @Denisre3. I'll work on getting that fixed.

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51am

Nice idea. The I personally didn't find the transition mechanics quite responsive but the puzzles were fair and really fun!
Also, get a PC.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09am

I like the music and the game play is interesting (though I did have troubles being colour blind).

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05am

realy nice gameplay and many levels

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47am

One of my favourite games so far.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01am

Good idea and usage of theme, well done platforming that requires quite bit of finger dexterity. Perhaps the character could have been little more floaty to make it slightly easier.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Solid and fun game. Good job

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Very unique and fun game idea. Great job!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Wow, this is really nice indeed. Great concept and a nice experience. Also, the jump animation is really megaman-ish, and I like that!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:55am

I have accomplished the first level and I can say you have created something new. This entry is very creative. design can be improved, but yet I like this project. One of my favorites for the LD30. Well done ++

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Hi there. Really nice implementation of this idea. Good puzzles and level 0-1, reached start of 0-2 then my platforming abilities (bad) let me down... Nice sounds and graphics/animations. Good job!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:18pm

One of my favorites so far. Pure simple mechanics, but very mind-bending and nerve-wracking.

SoupWithBits says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Music so good. Had me jamming the game a while.

Birke says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Great core mechanic. A bit annoying that you used a perspective camera since it made it harder to judge the jumps.

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I'm very impressed with the gameplay, well done.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Really nice interpretation of the theme! The game was quite hard, but it was easy to learn. The music was really good, nice work!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:07pm

I experienced excitement. Because yours is such a great game! Graphics, music, gameplay, ... And the triforce! Amazing level design! Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]