Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Little Drop

by masterhyjinx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is little drop. He lives in a world where everything is a cycle. Connected. As a matter of fact he just fell as a single rain drop. Help him do his part in nature's cycle by getting back to a river.

If he's having a hard time, take some sunshine in and evaporate into a cloud for a bit!

Had less time than I imagined I would but I think I accomplished an amazing amount of work. This might be one of my best LD entries yet after missing the last few.

For this project I used:

Unity3D
MonoDevelop
NGUI
Playmaker
BeatWave
Audacity
Pickle Sprite Editor (http://www.pickleeditor.com/)
CFXR
Audacity
Auto Tile Gen (http://autotilegen.com/)
Auto Tile Set
Photoshop CS5
Bamboo CTH-470

The source code is missing Playmaker and NGUI. Everything else is there!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#334Fun3.30
#400Humor2.57
#586Overall3.18
#598Graphics3.04
#625Innovation3.07
#636Audio2.56
#707Mood2.81
#864Theme2.75

Comments

Kaelaholme says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03am

Really like the way the evaporation cloud transformation looks.

Akurn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46am

Haha very cute. Not sure if the delay in jumping is an intentional design decision, but it helps build character for the little guy.

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39am

I like the mechanic of evaporation!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Nice idea to have a warter drop searching for water as it's home. Like the way it turns into a cloud. Nice work... jumoing should feel a little bit more dynamic... Nice entry

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Hi there. A charming game. Love the sounds, the pixel art, the movement, the cloud moments. All great!

drakfyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Wow! Great job, loved that! Great art and level design. Was surprised by the additional mechanic introduced in the second level. Very fun!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:52am

I loved the evaporation mechanic. Would have also liked to see it turn to ice to complete the trifecta: liquid, gas, solid.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:37am

Cute little game! It would have helped to have had some music to give you the feel of things too, as well as maybe a less abrupt level transition (I was confused at the beginning when the menu screen didn't just let me start playing, and instead plopped me down at a level beginning without fanfare). I would have also liked the little droplet to feel heavier as it splats around, rather than being so floaty--to contrast with the feel of the cloud mechanic, which should be really freeing. I really liked the water cycle mechanic and the cheerful little level-end sting.

Thanks!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

I really liked this one! Great job on the different states of water as a creative new mechanic! Nice work.

kidando says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Not bad. Not bad at all. After Ludum Dare, you could definitely refine/polish and create a pretty neat platformer from this. Great job and concept.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Nice job! I kept expecting some Mario-style secret worlds that you could only get to as a cloud :)

ItyBity8Bit says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:44am

Good graphics and sounds that work well with each other.
The jumping felt a bit clunky because it jumps a second after you press the button and can’t choose how high you go.
The level design can use some work to feel like a more natural.
This has great potential, with more time I can see this on many web sites.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]