Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moonstone

by NightShadow0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Three astronauts have been sent to the "Connected Worlds", the three moons of Ersatz-4, to study the special properties of their moonstone; this ore can be present in multiple places at the same time, but disturbing it causes its other instances to collapse. The three parties must work in tandem to prevent their mutual downfall.

I finished pretty much everything i set out to do with the game but fell out of love with the mechanic halfway through, which is why it ended up so short. I wouldn't say i'm disappointed with the result, but i do hope other people find it more interesting than i do.

Thanks for playing!

*Code in C# + Unity
*Artwork in Photoshop
*BGM in SunVox
*SFX in Bfxr + Audition
*Title font is Number 19000 by WLM Fonts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Theme3.95
#297Innovation3.50
#320Mood3.27
#324Humor2.75
#452Audio2.85
#523Overall3.24
#585Fun3.00
#615Graphics3.00
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12am

Pretty great. Nice use of the theme. I wish the controls felt a little more crisp in terms, and same goes for collision. But really a great game for the 48 hour contest.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:53am

Cute characters and nice dialogues. I found jumping pretty difficult, but overall it's a decent entry.

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Interesting idea!

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:25pm

nice use of the theme! i think there are some problems with collision detection though ;) abort abort!

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Cool little game, nice idea. As others have said the controls could do with some polish.

PurpleApes says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Cool use of the theme!

Tommislav says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Good idea, but the controls and collision detection would have needed some extra attention. The platforms for the other astronauts often dissapeared when I only touched them from the side, making it a bit frustrating.

Pfeyffer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Great concept and good use of the theme. Somewhat difficult with keyboard controls.

tbam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

really cool use of the theme, one of the more orignal games up here for sure.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Hard but very nice game :) Good tutorial/game introduction.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:25pm

The artwork for the characters is adorable!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Jumping was really difficult which seems weird since its outer space. I feel like I should be floating a bit more. Aside from that, interesting idea.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:48pm

So tough! Nice fitting the theme with this mechanic.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Hi there. Liked the 3 worlds and conversation between the astronauts. Found the platform physics a bit glitchy.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:51pm

I really like this game. Great use of the theme. I think some might think the audio is grating; I thought it was really charming. Collision and controls could use some work, but I really like how each successive astronaut has to traverse a slightly more difficult version of the puzzle. Great job.

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:29am

Loved the mechanic progressing through the three character. Great job all around.

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 9:13am

Thanks for playing, everyone! Apologies i couldn't get to all your games before the deadline.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]