Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Glitched

by Yasho - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My Ludum Dare 30 entry!

Story

It is the far future. You work for a company specialising in creating virtual reality worlds and your coworker messes up a simple world merge, creating a glitched mess of three mixed worlds at the same time. The only way to fix the worlds is to enter the glitch and destroy all of its sources.

Controls:

WASD- movement
Left mouse button - Anti-Glitch Field
Right mouse button - Deflection Beam
M - Toggle Music
F - Toggle Fullscreen

Guide:

Destroy all glitch sources! Enemies can be launched with the deflection beam. Launched enemies can destroy glitch or can explode on a wall creating glitch projectiles which hurt you! The anti-glitch field destroys glitch tiles and sources; slows enemies and projectiles down.

Note: When the glitch covers a large area, there are many bright flashing colors, so if anyone is affected by bright flashing lights, be careful!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#42Fun3.91
#93Overall3.79
#158Mood3.52
#170Audio3.42
#176Innovation3.70
#184Humor3.07
#389Graphics3.36
#475Theme3.36

Comments

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11am

This is certainly an original gameplay. Well done!

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30am

nice game and cool idea, cool music too :)

MSaul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33am

The last level is really hard haha. Good concept. Hurt my eyes a little.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:34am

Very nice "dual stick" controls. Cool idea and effects.

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46am

Very dinamic gameplay, liked it alot.

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32am

Nice entry. Like your take on the theme.

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:34am

Its progression on difficulty is too fast but the idea and gameplay are nice.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55am

I like the gameplay mechanics a alot. It's better than most dual stick shooters out there.

xvix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Great game overall, very nice music

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Very, very nice. I haven't played a game quite like this before. There were lots of nice personal touches around the levels. Great sound track as well.

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Quite hard but amazing gameplay, art and sound/music!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:16am

Im lovin' it! Felt like in the glitch jam for a moment :)
I really enjoy playing it and the mood is exelent, but it's barely touching the theme.
Anyway, A+!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Gameplay is superb, sounds are great and visuals are perfect for the gameplay. I love glitches and I really liked your game. Cheers!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:45am

Great gameplay, and your level of difficulty increases nicely
well made!

RaycoSantana says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:33am

pretty cool!

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:01am

Text was really difficult to read, also death felt very sudden.

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Hi there, nice game! this is really well executed! Movement feels kind of fast and i had some problems steering my hero precisely. Other than that a great game with some really nice music and interesting graphics.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Wow is this really a game made in 48h o_O ? That's the most impressive game i've seen on this jam, congratulations!

The graphics are very good, the music too and the game is so fun to play. I think you could really make a real game out of it. Also it's very challenging but not frustrating. The only bad point is thtat the game seriously starts to lag after level 3-4, but hey, that's a jam after all.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Sorry, couldn't finish it. My eyes are tired and getting instantly killed by a dying enemy's bullet-wave due to the lack of any invulnerability after getting hit really got to me so I just alt-f4:d at some point.

The graphics certainly fit the setting, but I just can't look at them for an extended period of time without feeling dizzy. The gameplay is also interesting but, because there is no invulnerability, annoying at times.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Yasho says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:43pm

@Moosefly Dang, I totally forgot about that :0! Yeah, the gameplay would be much less frustrating with some invun time. Thanks :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]