Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ServerSphereICE

by drakfyre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an ICEcube and you must destroy the GlitchCubes in the spherical dataverse. Press Z or left control to fire, look around with your mouse, and move and rotate with WASD or the arrow keys.

Tips:
- Looking straight up is a great way to find the last few enemies in a ServerWorld.
- Destroy all enemies in a server to move to the next connected ServerWorld.

Notes:
Didn't have as much time as I hoped for this one. Very happy with the general feel of the game and the look of the game, but this game doesn't even have a title screen or game over condition, nor does it have a score.

Anyway, still putting it out there because I still like it and I think there's some things that can be learned from the source code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#78Graphics4.08
#428Audio2.90
#451Mood3.11
#723Innovation2.94
#761Humor2.04
#781Overall2.98
#791Fun2.78
#1054Theme2.34

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33am

Loved the trippy atmosphere.

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36am

So that's how antivirus works.....

rainybyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36am

Controls kept locking up. When it worked, however, it is a novel concept and a good game.

atomic_swerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:37am

I really enjoyed your use of ambient background sound effects. I wish that the mouse was used for aiming and turning, or that there was some way of snapping the camera back to the way the player is facing. Really fun sphereworld, though!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:39am

ohhh, psychedelic :)

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

It took me a minute to figure out what was going on. I must have moved the mouse when it first loaded so I couldn't see my cube. I just heard explosions and my firing, but couldn't make sense of what was what. It was only when I used the mouse again to scan all over the sphere that I realized it wasn't an FPS, but a Third Person when I found my cube. Once I got that sorted out, it was more fun but using mouselook at all throws me off because I lose my cube again.

Graphics and sounds are pretty cool!

Fernando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44am

Loved the colors and effects. I found this game very relaxing :D (I would like to shoot with the right mouse click). Congrats!

Alucard J says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50am

It looks good. I'm very interested to see how you are handling the movement of player and environment, and how the textures and light works. Still a good effort, good on you for submitting.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51am

You certainly captured the idea you wanted to, but I do agree with the unfinished nature of it. Also, besides a slight Tron-like feeling, I didn't see how it fit the theme. As a heads up to other players, don't forget that ctrl + W closes your window (and thus the game) as I did :P.

lambomang says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02am

Well that's probably the trippiest I'll play this LD xD
Would've been nice if you could use the mouse for turning.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55am

Strange environment but I like. Well done. Cool FX ++

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41am

Great graphics - my primary gripe was that it's awkward to shoot and move with the same hand.

Budda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48am

Awesome looking game, surprisingly easy to cheat the levels though - holding an arrow key to spin around and spamming fire.
Cool concept though, well done.

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02am

great graphics. I really liked the concept. I think I had more fun when there was around 10 enemies to kill, because I stopped spamming the shot. When it got to 3 enemies it was a bit annoying, since I couldn't find them for a while. Good concept though. It might become awesome. :)

masterhyjinx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31am

Good job Drakfyre! This is the first LD30 project that I've wanted to download to take a peek at how you accomplished that look and movement. It's sweet! Someone want to teach me how to use GIT? Hahaha.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49am

Having the look and the aiming decoupled makes this game very difficult to control. I do like the graphics, though.

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07am

The atmosphere is brilliant :D However I managed to beat the first level by simply pressing A and tapping Ctrl.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Very crazy game, reminded me of ghost in the shell.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Pretty cool game. I would recommend making your cube stand out from the background a little more. When using the mouse to look around, it can be tricky to re-orient yourself back to your cube. I really liked the visual effects.

Also want to thank you for your Cooking with Unity YouTube videos. I've learned a lot from them and always enjoy watching.

Please try out my game and let me know what you think!

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Awesome graphics and FX! Definitely one of my favorites so far! And now I'm going to watch your making of :)

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34am

Controls take a while to get use to, but the graphics are really impressive. Feels like I'm in some kind of computer world! Well done!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:34pm

It has a nice Tron/Matrix vibe, hasn't it?

Btw there is a bug - I was caught inside the evil "GlitchPillar" :D

Ping78 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Good game for 10 hours Max. It reminds me of GridCruiser a bit, the grid you are on, the main character and those pillars. Graphics are great, especially if you think about that there is just cubes, sphere and some additive particles.

By the way, great videos! :)

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:15am

If my computer didn't get that warm while playing this game it would have made a very nice screensaver.

Retl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Not the most fun to play, but this game is easily the coolest looking entry I've seen so far.

glbs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Pretty nice graphics and interesting infinite looping space, yet the gameplay is a bit repetitive as the best way to destroy the enemies turned out for me to be shooting constantly while circling around myself.

kaa says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Special game!! Best graphics and mood!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Very good graphics and atmosphere. I really like the shot effects and how they curve along the map. GG!

anssipe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Trippy graphics and effects, however there is no much challenge in the gameplay. Just turn and shoot like hell and you pass the level in no time.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Hi there. Trippy visuals you made. Would have been nice to have mouse capture and fullscreen.

pansapiens says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:47am

Great visual effect - I can't quite decide if it's a scrolling UV or a cubemap reflection (might have to have a peek at the source :P ). Liked the atmosphere set by the background sound and the crunchy explosions too. I wasn't a huge fan of the control scheme, I didn't like having to find the player again after looking around - maybe locking the mouse to only look up/down not left/right would simplify things.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:13am

Great game, controls are a little awkward though.

Artamus says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Fun game, congrats!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:50am

Those are some pretty effects you've got there. I also like how the entire level is inside a sphere.

Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Very psychedelic ! Telling the controls right away would have been a bit more practical for the player though X').

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]