Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gorilla Warfare

by MegaMasterX - Jam Entry

The peaceful planet of Terra has collided with an unknown planet. King is suddenly woken up and must rush to the end of the site to find out what went on.

Due to Time Constraints, we've had to cut the intermission between the Character Select and the Level. Also due to constraints, some enemies had to be disabled, resulting in a less-than-ideal play experience.

===Controls===
A / S = Move Left & Right
W = Jump
R = Attack (Animation implemented, but scripts are not functional)
Esc = Exit game

We will be continuing development of this game beyond the Ludum Dare. Please feel free to follow us on Twitter @2xhStudios and on facebook at http://facebook.com/2xhstudios.

Thank you for downloading and trying our game. We sincerely apologize for any issues you encounter playing it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#390Humor(Jam)2.40
#533Audio(Jam)2.58
#612Graphics(Jam)2.80
#696Mood(Jam)2.13
#756Innovation(Jam)1.82
#759Fun(Jam)1.84
#764Theme(Jam)1.56
#782Overall(Jam)2.05
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46am

That was... interesting. I couldn't make it more than 3 seconds in the game before I collided with a red wisp or the collision detection broke. So yeah, virtually unplayable. But I do really like the walk cycle and the jump animation!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47am

Unfortunately it feels too unfinished, so it's a little confusing as to when you have won or lost or what anything is, but I still get the feeling of speed from it.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01am

This was very confusing- Maybe because I'm extremely tired, or because I'm color Blind- But it actually took me a few tries to realize that the green top of the background wasn't part of the level :P
The game feels unfinished sadly, as it seems you've had some good ideas with character selection and all. The animations and sprites where very good though, and it had a nice sense of speed.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:08am

Like the art style!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:08am

I broke da game. - Flurkin

slumber says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:53am

I tried 3 times and i keep getting connection false.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Slumber, can you screenshot the error?

Tosic says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:08am

Not bad, although I would like to have an exit button (like press Q to quit) and if you would give the commands in the desc. (like everybody else) it would be really nice.
But the game is really funny!

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:09pm

keep dying!!!
Don't think it's me either, very bizarre game!

kristof says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Yeah! Really really good soundtrack. Nice Graphics. Hope you will finish it someday!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Really love the graphics! I included it in part 27 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/DOSk1bi234E

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]