Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A World Between

by Mekuri - Jam Entry

Finally I'm done! As last time I'm uploading in the last hour, so I really hope there's no issues :)

A World between is a space shooter game, where you earn credits for defeating foes, and you can use them to upgrade your ship.

Short Starting Guide

Either fly to the space station ahead of you, or turn 180 and go through the gate. In the Thyranus system (The red one) is where the enemies are. Use tab or t to shuffle the targets (Helps a lot). Once cleared a message will appear telling you how much you earned. When that message dissapears a new wave have spawned for you to kill.

As usually a lot of features was cut from the game in order to finish in time, but I hope the end product is enjoyable.

I made almost all of it myself, except for 1 texture, and a few sound effects from freesound.org.

I hope you enjoy my game- And I'm looking forward to playing yours!

-----------
I've compiled both Linux and Mac versions of the game, as I found out last Dare that there's a few of those out there that don't get to play many games. I have no means of testing them though, as I've merely build them with Unity, but I hope it'll work :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#83Fun(Jam)3.63
#204Graphics(Jam)3.83
#204Overall(Jam)3.46
#260Theme(Jam)3.43
#270Audio(Jam)3.32
#282Mood(Jam)3.29
#380Humor(Jam)2.43
#487Innovation(Jam)2.85

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25am

Phenomenal and powerful. I really like the effects, and the mechanics mix pretty well together. Plus, I really freaking love flying through space.

lau16menor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35am

Agreed, flying through space is pretty cool :)
Wish there were more enemies though? because I couldn't find any...

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:47am

There's plenty if you go through the gate in the first system. Once you clear the first few more will appear soon.
Remember to use the switch target button while there, makes it much easier to find enemies :-)

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38am

Awesome mechanics and really nice graphics, the game feels great!

BroCade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30am

Wow, very ambitious and impress on what you manage to execute in such a short time. Do like

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Very cool! I'm curious what features you had to cut?

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15pm

I had initially planned more worlds, and a trade element, so that you could travel around and trade goods to the different worlds- I didn't get around to adding more types of weapons, which would've added a lot I think. Lastly I simply would've loved to make a few more ship types and maybe a few more spacestations :-)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Fun unpretentious space shooter! Lots of lovely fizzing particle effects. I appreciate the effort you went to with the shop - though I could really have done with more value for my in-game money. =) Great work!

KuGrou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:27am

Nice, I really liked the feel of the controls.

Capitals says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:29pm

The flying mechanics are really competent, and fun to use.

mtrc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice! The mac version works perfectly, btw. I was a bit unsure of what to do at first but the controls you've got are really nice, lovely effects too.

mlabarca says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Nice work, at first the controls felt confusing, but only natural later. You should really expand this!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Very cool game. Controls are very intuitive. Great fun

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16pm

A really fun game, I quite enjoyed just flying through space.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Great controls makes me feeling of cosmic space. Good game!

Linusson says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Wow, a really nice game. I'm truly impressed that you managed to make the controls so good. I thought I was going to get lost or something but you had tweaked navigation and controls and everything really well. :)

I also liked the fear when the enemies laser shots approached me. :D

Great game and well done! :)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

THe mechanics are very well done, but after destroying 2 ships I didn't recieve any credits.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:31am

You're not supposed to receive credits after 2 ships- You receive credits when an entire wave is destroyed- I am working on the post jam version though where I've changed it to be pr. kill based, as it makes the game slightly easier - I will share a link to the post jam version at a later time :-)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Hi there. Great graphics and sound. Flew around a bit, stargate exit effects and camera fly-by very nice. Couldn't find much to do other than fly around. A guide to find a battle would have been useful addition. Good job!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:40am

Really cool. Great controls and graphics. I liked the music too. It's just really fun to fly around! Good job.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Really nice graphics! I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Ix-68aPFWAc

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]