Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Astro Tycoon

by goffmog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Astro Tycoon!

Yeah!

Some brief notes for now:

Moved this bug to the top because people keep mentioning it in comments:

If the planet list doesn't open when you're setting a route, you can just click the bottom left GUI icon (the one that looks like a circle with a question mark in it) and the list will open. You do not need to restart the route planning process.

How to play
-----------

Move the camera around with WASD and zoom with the mousewheel, zoom further out for scrolling long distances.

The icons in the bottom left are the most useful, buy ships, then set up passenger routes then watch the credits roll in!

If the planet list disappears when you're supposed to set targets for a ship, just click the button with the ? in the circle and they'll pop back.

No win or lose states, just play!

Missing things that are annoying or buggy:
-----------------------------------------

Ships don't avoid other planets/stars - looks a bit rubbish when they fly straight through them. Ran out of time to put in avoidance steering.

You can't choose a planet for a route by clicking on the planet, only by selecting it from the list under the (?) menu. This was meant to be in, don't know what happened, blame Unity's seemingly helpful but actually unhelpful rotation functions.

Missing things that would be nice to have:
-----------------------------------------

I really thought I would get sound in this time, but a rotation bug kept me occupied for at least 2 hours instead :(

Obviously a LOT that could be done to improve this, the original design had multiple star systems, rival companies and multiple types of starship and cargo - plus more resources than just passengers and a whole developing ecosystem a la Transport Tycoon that thrives as you help move stuff about for people... Plus probably alien invasion at some point!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#141Theme3.82
#369Graphics3.40
#475Mood3.08
#538Innovation3.18
#543Overall3.22
#642Fun2.95
#673Humor2.16
#943Audio1.71

Comments

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46am

The graphics caught my eye immediately, they really pop.

Overall a cool engine, would be nice to see as a full game.

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36am

I always love this kind of games, good job

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:07pm

This is very impressive for a weekend's work! Can easily see how this game could be expanded, too.

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Pretty good game, good concept!

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Really enjoyed the game, but I don't have a mouse wheel so I couldn't zoom :(

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

I can't wait to see it completed :D I love this kind of games and ... Did you play a lot to Elite or Frontier? :) I'm asking because I really like the feel of the galaxy map and the planet list, which reminds me of those games.

Great work, indeed!

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Thanks hexagore! Most of Saturday was spent on just getting the planets right, Sunday was about half on the UI and half on the ships. I think I spent more hours overall on this one than I ever have before in LD, worked right up until the deadline.

I guess I should write up a post-mortem!

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

TrainDude, lots and lots of Frontier and a huge amount of Transport Tycoon too :)

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:15pm

@TD5 Thanks for that, post compo version will now have a zoom slider! (but you should still get a better mouse)

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Cool idea to make a full game! The camera moves by itself when I'm close to a planet, don't know if this is supposed to behave this way.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Graphics are really nice. Game is very fun. The notifications down the side soon pile up and I can't delete them fast enough, so they just pile up :p Very related to the theme. Bookmarked, will definitely play again!

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

@Bubble - Either you've clicked on a planet on the list at the bottom, that's supposed to pan the camera over to the planet. Or it's actually the planet moving and not your camera :P

@Flyinpig5 Yeah, clearing the notifications is basically the main gameplay element at the moment :)

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Hi! Thanks for your comment. You should improve camera movement. I guess you had no time to test your game, too.
For 48 hours it's still a good job.

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48pm

@holgk I'm open to suggestions about the camera, there are a million ways I could change it - what do you think would improve it?

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Not much of a game (as you know).
But still oddly fun to play with. Definitely deserves to be expanded on!

I don't normally play games like this one, but seeing the little ships fly around and swinging around the orbits and such is really nice.

Notifications definitely need to be separated by category.
Most of the time I think you'd be much more interested in your monthly "statements" compared to how each and every pick up/drop off went.

And then, you know, obvious things: more ships. Maybe you can be at war with other systems? Trade and/or pirate their stuff! Other resources. Sound (menu bleeps and such) and some ambient music would really set the tone even more.

Keep working on it!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

All this randomly generated stuff and statistics and physics and stuff is super impressive. The gameplay may not be much now but it sounds like you have some great ideas of how to expand it, and I think this has a lot of potential.

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Love transporting passengers on a interplanetary level. Engage (or maybe delay that order)!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Wow, ambitious! I love it! Took me a while to figure it out, but once I got it it was really engaging (though , took me forever to catch up on the unread notifications - wish I could click continue down by the read area)

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

@rejooh I was slightly embarrassed to learn it actually should be "belay" that order - which makes sense when you're the only person in the galaxy who knows what the word belay means!.. I must be drinking the wrong kind of tea.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Whoa - very ambitious game! I loved the depth and complexity. The mood could really benefit from some sound, but I'm sure you were quite busy making all the moving parts. I ran into a few bugs, like my planets list at the bottom getting stuck open, which would then cause it to toggled closed when I needed it. But I could restart the process and it would work fine. Overall, nice work! Definitely some beautiful potential.

TinyHat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19pm

This game was incredibly well made. I just wish there was more to do. After building a few ship, I felt like upgradind stuff! :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Beautiful and really intuitive UI design! but as some of the others have said it would be great if there was a bit more to do. But still its really impressive in the short time it was made, and definitely got tons of potential!

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Really nice game, the UI is well done. Could be a great finished game!
I noticed two bugs for the moment : when opening the ship panel, once you bought more than seven ships the panel is cluttered and it becomes hard to navigate (buttons surimpress one another)
The second one, is that for setting a route for the first time for a ship you have to open the panel two times to get to select the origin and destination planets.

goffmog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:03pm

If anybody tries out the Mac or Linux versions and they compare well with the web/windows version please let me know so I can remove the (untested) from those platforms.

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Relaxing game.

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:36am

When I start the game I just get a black screen every time :( (Web)

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

Running it on Linux (Xubuntu, 64bit) gave me this error:

vilix@ViliX:~/Downloads$ ./AstroTycoonGoffmogLD30Linux.x86
./AstroTycoonGoffmogLD30Linux.x86: error while loading shared libraries: libGLU.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

Cool game, I quite liked the graphics!

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

Pretty cool game, theme connection is straight, GUI is good, design is good, it's one solid game

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

The Linux version works. I lived to watch the ships taking turns between planets, but it was annoying to get a lot of messages meanwhile. Also, in the screenshot you attached there are many planets and some even have moons, but I couldn't get to have more than the four basic planets.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:17am

Fun, but a bit too fast - a minute or two after putting one ship down the side of my screen was filled with notifications (an option to disable those maybe, or have them stack?). Good entry though!

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:21am

Great game, but there is a planet that has a population of "0 million". That looks like a bug.

goffmog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:31am

@rfgpfeiffer You're right, I saw that too the other day :) Population sizes for inner worlds are always in millions even if they're 0, just need to add a special case for that. Will be in the post compo version as I do want to occasionally have an inner world with nobody living there

@eemmbbeerr - interesting, I get a lot of variety when hitting re-generate... things like numbers of worlds and moons etc are all based on our own solar system so there's only a slim chance that you'll end up with more than 4 inner worlds. Maybe the random function is always returning the same thing in Linux? Outer worlds (gas giants) will usually have moons and may have as many as 8.

Njord says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

Nice concept, I would have liked to see what it yields with more dev time / gameplay features !

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Good foundation for a fuller future game! It's always fun to watch all the little things zoom about.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:33am

Nice Graphics! Would be nice if it has more contents!

Josh H says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Very cool entry. It's similar in style and function as mine, so definitely right up my alley. What you have is good, but I'd like to see it developed further.

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Very cool entry, I love these type of games. Must have been fun to make!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]