Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel Puzzles

by dylanwolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A match-3 game with two connected boards.

Click an empty space to drop the next block.
Click a block to flip it between boards.
Click the flip button to see the other board. (This doesn't count as an action.)
Match 3 in any direction to clear. Clear the board to win.

Used: Unity, 2D Toolkit, Audacity, GIMP, Ludum Dare Resources (https://bitbucket.org/dylanwolf/ludumdareresources)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Fun3.52
#203Graphics3.72
#241Audio3.27
#297Overall3.47
#339Theme3.54
#395Mood3.18
#436Innovation3.31
#565Humor2.31
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:21am

this was fun. I actually cleared the screen. I though that it was pretty cool that you could flip the tiles from one world to the other. It was like playing 2 games at once.

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

Fun game ^^

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

It's not always clear, but I can understand :)

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31am

Decent game and kinda fun , I think it will be nice game but will need some instruction i didn't notice the flip button and what it do the first time

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Great concept! It took me 44 turns but I cleared the board :) I liked the background music too.

peejaygee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Enjoyable game. 67 Moves for me to clear both boards... :) [KGD]

vinull says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22pm

It took a few plays to get what was going on, but is a pretty cool concept and take on the theme. As always, dig the art style and music!

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37pm

i think the 'falling down' animation was a bit annoying when you put a new block at the beginning of a free column. other than that, solid entry

EMAK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:31am

fun match 3!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:58am

Nice idea. Really enjoyable!

kyru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:59am

A good take on the match 3 genre using this theme.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:05am

Thats adictive.. 56 movements the last time! Im very bad playing but.. I played 5 times! Lol

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:04am

Fun! I thought the graphics (though it bothered me that the rightmost column is kind of behind the frame) and music were great, and it wasn't a chore to finish off the board. It was pretty easy, though. Maybe it'd be an improvement to have some kind of hindrance.

Slowian says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Fun to play. An improvement would be if the blocks placement was blocked after board is cleared. Because currently it adds more actions.

dunin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:11pm

interesting remake of match-3.
need something to make it more challenging (time or limit the number of actions until the next match...)
(and an end screen)

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Like the idea, very relaxing game :)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Hi there. Like the design, UI and tiles. The gentle music also nice background. Found the constant need to flip sides fairly frustrating, I get that's the point, but perhaps could show both sides at once (within same square somehow (miniature in middle ?) or its just flip, flip, flip... Good solid puzzle!

INC$D021 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Very good.. 57 moves to clear the board. :)

arhpositive says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:31pm

45 moves and clear. :) Nice twist to the genre and fits the theme perfectly. Solid entry. Well done. :)

AtkinsSJ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I really like the art and audio for this, it feels really cosy. The game mechanic is cool, even if it is yet another match-3 game. ;) Took me a while to realise I could place blocks as well as flipping them, and it would be nice if it detected when you win. But overall, pretty cool! :)

DarkCart says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Took a little fiddling to get it to work in Chrome, and took a while to figure out, but I like it. Sort of reminds me of Tetris. Good job!

raddevon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Love the music! Your interpretation of the theme was refreshing. It bent my brain a little but in a good way.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Clever puzzle. Would fit great on mobile. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]