Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Circling Circles

by Linus Lindberg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The circles are connected. You need to keep both the mirror and the original safe from the spikes.

This was designed to be played on mobile browsers, but it works just as well on desktop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#105Innovation3.88
#118Fun3.67
#120Overall3.74
#130Mood3.59
#155Audio3.46
#350Graphics3.44
#468Theme3.37
#673Humor2.16

Comments

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:33am

Some circles circling other circles :D It is a good title! Very nice game with simple graphics. I REALLY LIKE the mechanics! Some continuous color change would be nice.

komjaur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29am

i liked it

Aaants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:31am

This has a nice feel about it. The idea, clean look and sound go really well together.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32am

Very smooth gameplay, especially for mobile. Slick.

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34am

Really good idea! Got 72 points so far.

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46am

Got 96 so far. It's hard to distinct the real one and the mirror one after a certain time. It may have been worth to visually differentiate them.
Other than that, you made a solid entry, I like it.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51am

Nice idea, but i don't like that color combination. My eyes start hurting after while. :(

grifdail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57am

Nice concept, sadly too point annoy me: the fact that the circle are orbiting your finger (that removes a lot of control and "responsiveness" it make the game look unfair). On my tablet, my finger and my hand hide most of the screen.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Managed 90 - very good game. Nice gfx & sound, great concept!

kdunee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Nice game, with simplistic, yet effective graphics. I think simplesmiler has a point though about differentiating between the real circle and the mirror one ;)

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Very difficult. Love it though. Similar art to another game in here called Oval. I imagine this would play great on a mobile device.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Thank you!
The creator of Oval is actually a friend of mine, and we deliberately made games with similar design.
Our games are connected. They take place in the same universe. It's our little play on the theme :)

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I must admit I have a thing for these kind of evocative minimalist pieces, and this is no exception. I love the mood that the austere graphics and reflective midi music brings. The dynamics of the music are a bit rough though imo, and a touch jarring because of it. But mostly the music's good. Gameplay-wise, it's addictive and challenging but is simple and doesn't overwhelm, which is the perfect balance I suppose. Thanks for making it! Have to check out the Oval game you mentioned next.

Donar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I like this a lot. Now I'm sad, that I have an iPhone ;)

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47pm

This is really fun! Simple and easy to play but requires strategy. I played it on Firefox with no issue. I miss sound effects, but I enjoyed the minimalist graphics. Good job.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Fun to play, just the right amount of challenge. I like the white on green color scheme alot, but it'd be nice to be able to tell which circle you're primarily controlling a bit easier.

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Simple but very nice gameplay! well done :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Simple yet addicting! Good job!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:17pm

simple and minimalistic and that's great!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Fun concept.
I had some trouble on desktop with the circles' moves elasticity, but on a touchscreen it becomes really enjoyable.

arhpositive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Minimalist style and good controls make the game highly enjoyable. Solid entry.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Music was solid, gameplay was fun, but the controls were a little tough to get used to

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Hi there. Great look and feel, original. Love the simple sounds and particles. Good difficulty on the darts. Found it very difficult once 3 darts, maybe slightly more space to let people live a bit longer! Good job!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Wow! Great game! Feels really polished!

Made it to 102 points.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Nice game to be played on mobile devices. Some added variety would do wonders here. Good job!

DrCicero says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I guess it would be boring if all games were like this. But just now i find it perfect!

Especially the theme idea with two connected games! But i think you should both write that in the description, else how am i supposed to know? Then i could give a better theme rating.

(Even more interesting would be two games, where playing one affects the other one.)

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:49am

Very cool, gets tricky fast!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Cool idea, I scored 60 points after 3 or 4 play. I didn't understood at first that I had hold down the mouse, maybe you could use an icon to indicate that. Anyway great job :D

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Like when simple design and simple concept come together and create a great experience. Clever game with really nice music. Enjoyed playing this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]