Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

AstroReception

by Geti - Jam Entry

Very WIP, but that's LD for you. A taste of things to come perhaps.

Windows only. No sound.

Arrows and space to control your little ship.

---------------------------------------------------

Drive around and chat with anyone else playing the game.
See the sights, get lost, and discover treasures.

---------------------------------------------------

The mining/trading mechanic isn't there yet so there's no way to refuel or regain energy. That'll come when I get some more time to sink into it, I've got to get back to "actual" work!

The chat thing is actually the most fleshed out part, but I've neglected to bring attention to it in the game - ingame entities were meant to hail you through it and get you to start using it, but there aren't any. Lots of untapped potential, which is a shame.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Graphics(Jam)4.00
#215Mood(Jam)3.40
#249Fun(Jam)3.27
#366Overall(Jam)3.25
#512Innovation(Jam)2.80
#528Theme(Jam)2.80
#1985Coolness20%

Comments

Geti says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

(have just been alerted that this doesn't work reliably and caught the bug, re-upping now)

Geti says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42am

(should be fixed, let me know if you have any more trouble!)

Konste says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01am

Wow, loved the old school feel to this game. The flying mechanic was really unique in using the thrusters to move around rather than the standard flying. Great work on this. Hopefully, you can check out my game too if you get a moment. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=42403

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40am

The graphics really make nice atmosphere! Good job. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Love the graphics of this game, especially the thrusters. So much fun to just fly around but I couldn't find anyone and at one point I got my energy upto 7246 so that was a nice bonus. Would be nice with some soft exploration music.

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Nice pixel art and good ship controls. Would be interesting to see where you're planning on taking the concept.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Good game, I liked it

jprogman says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:57am

I really like the Lunar Lander + mining idea. Hope you'll address the map issue when you continue developing. I find myself hitting things when I go to a different screen.

Kojan says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Nice game, really liked the graphics

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:12pm

VERY nice graphics and flight mechanics.

Keep at this game. It definetely has potential!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]