Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Constellations

by Inateno - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Edit: Because I wanted to clean my game and make a release I created a new version named "post-compo".
Please use the link "Web" to rate my game and give a try to my "post-compo" if you enjoy it :)

As I said in my first blogpost, I used the DreamEngine to make this game, it's on Git Hub.
I got a problem with my repo so I deleted it and make it again with original files

This game work on mobiles/tablets and computer, just play with mouse or one finger. Let me know about lags and bugs, if you play on Android you can issue some lag on "old" devices.

The game original entry: http://inateno.com/games/constellations/originalentry
The post compo versions:
Web: http://inateno.com/games/constellations
Itch.io: http://inateno.itch.io/constellations
W8: http://apps.microsoft.com/windows/en-us/app/constellations/8540f92e-fde3-4d96-985a-5b61a569cbc3
WP8: http://www.windowsphone.com/fr-fr/store/app/constellations/079e29d3-38ff-4883-bfe5-98b109cd17fa

Feel free to check source code available on github.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#228Fun3.47
#308Overall3.46
#446Mood3.12
#464Innovation3.28
#606Humor2.25
#626Audio2.59
#696Theme3.06
#850Graphics2.63

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:23am

An interesting task for the player. Please remove timer. I couldn't reach higher levels. The timer makes the game too complicated. The game will be better if you improve the animation after a task is done.

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:14am

awesome connection nice work

Inateno says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:36am

@BloodJohn I'm on details right now, I have changed the way to count time you should reach higher level easier now :)
And today is the animation day, come back tonight ^^

Inateno says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:36am

and ty BlueSama :)

JacquesPierre says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:47am

Love it! I was hooked after one try, beautifully simple and very intuitive. I would make it a bit harder, after constellations with 5 balls the reward you get is too big and you basically will not die anymore. Also, I would restrict the moves to one straight or diagonal move. Now it is also possible to make moves like a chesshorse (intentionally?). Keep it up, great submission

Inateno says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Thank you, yes the chesshorse move when you reach 5-6 links is intentional, it's not easy to reach balls quickly with this move so it's a risk for player to play this but if he need 1 or 2 balls and can get it only with this move it could be usefull, it's not a problem to prevent it so I let this move.

About the easiness of the game, I'm on, I mad few tests, I think now it's not to hard and not to easy depend of what kind of player you are, around 5-6 it's harder.

Thanks for the feedback ! (and I think I'll upload an other version later with the first render more "simple" but I need an other music ^^)

Altourus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:28am

Very nice :)

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54am

Not bad at all, I found myself really drawn to this game. It needs some polish on graphics and sounds, but it is really fun to play as is. I also liked the difficulty curve.

Managed to get to 50 points on my first play. Thanks for the game!

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19am

You could improve the sounds and graphics, but the idea is really catchy, especially for a mobile game

grifdail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08am

Nice concept. The resolutions look strange on my nexus 7. I am not really good at this but the Color choices look odd. Also the leader boards is interesting.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44am

Nice concept , the art is nice but maybe need to be polished and with some animation the game will be really cool . good work

Digiraze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45am

I enjoy that!

Naytron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Fun game! It's quite difficult to keep the right sequence in mind whilst plotting the links, but that's just my short term memory at fault! Simple but effective.

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Game mechanic is simple and engaging (would really fit in a mobile game). Music is amazing, make you keep playing with the rhythm :).

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Hey guys thanks for feedbacks !
The game is already playable on mobile and tablets (trough mobile browser) I'm on a new version to release it on stores :)

I also changed ratio and arts more simple, and reworking fxs. Of course this will be a version post ludum dare but I'll put the link here for those who like the game :)

garygreen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Really liked the idea of this. Well done.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Simple idea, good implementation.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:15am

Pretty interesting idea, maybe make the required sequence a little more obvious. But other than that, it wasn't a bad game.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59am

I really like the game mechanic.
It becomes challenging with time, yet the concept remains simple.
I think the timer is essential, but maybe it need to be finetuned. With a nice rythm of progression this could become addictive.

Retl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:30pm

I found it pretty interesting to play and fairly easy to learn the rules. Neat stuff!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:19pm

my highscore is 4 because of the timer xD

Inateno says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46pm

@capsizedmoose here is a bug or something ?

@Colapsydo thanks, I almsot finished the new skinning, now I'm on more feedbacks and differents challenge/objectives or combo, looking for something that add various gameplay / objective without changing the base gameplay

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:38am

This is great game, graphics are great, gameplay is great except one thing, THE TIMER.

tjxx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:39am

Nice work! It was fun to play.

Inateno says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:41am

Sorry about timer I know it's a bit frustrating but if there is not timer it's to easy to go far far away (I tried some different level progression and this one seems to be great, if I give more time for each pattern it's really to easy).
If you have any suggestion please let me know ;)

frosty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:55am

Really nice entry! The gameplay was novel and fit the theme really well. I would personally advance to the higher levels slightly sooner, since I felt I did a couple too many 2-star rounds before it got interesting.

Also played the post-compo version for a bit, and I like the improvements you made, but would recommend going back to the stars you originally had (but with the newer colors) -- they are just more thematic and interesting than flat circles.

Nice work! =)

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43pm

It's super efficiently fun !
Great job !

DrCicero says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:25pm

My highscore is 8 ...
My computer is so slow, that he skips some frames. This seems to make the time run faster. Especially when once my computer was started doing something in the background, the time run in fraction of a second out.

I guess this is the result of the combination of counting time by frame and skipping frames.

Oh, and your game connects stars not worlds ;)

Inateno says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:26pm

But each stars reflect a sun with a solar system with potential worlds inside (let go your imagination further :D).

About time skipping, it is possible because the counter is set inside the Gui that is a newly featured in my engine and I probably mess to uncount time with delta (like I did for scene time sync) I'll fix it in coming days :)

Kyatric says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Took me a bit of time to figure exactly how to play, I hadn't noticed the "sequence" at first.
It's overall a nice idea, fits in the theme.

I would have enjoyed if the layout of stars would change at each new sequence/pattern. That would add a bit of a challenge and have the time reset or go up a bit as well as reward.

It's also missing a background music, even though you are then allowing players to chose the one they see fit the best :)

Overall a nice puzzle game though and congratulations to have made it in the time of the compo.

Inateno says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Aw, on the compo version (the first one) I mess something to play the music when it's loaded, so the first time maybe you don't have the music, just double click on mute button or refresh page (on post-compo it's fixed I think)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Very challenging! A great take on connected worlds. And I like it very much you included a scores table. Good work!!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Hi there. Liked your game, fun mechanic, nice sounds and feedback. A tiny bit more tutorial on very first level would have made it much more accessible... just look at this sequence, drag here to replicate... as overlay or something. Nice effects (sound and visual) on complete a valid connection. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]