Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Doggy Dialler

by Lianne Booton - Jam Entry

Twitter: @Liannethy
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/teamsadbrains

Controls:
Numpad to dial the demon's phone number

Credits: Lianne Booton did everything except music.

On the theme:
I used the theme to create a game that uses the narratives from two of my other games, as well as their characters, to bring them together with a new character. I also used characters from my paintings in this world.

The very basic premise is that you are teaching dogs to slay demons through prank calls. The demons are the bad energy formed from Josiah's former victims, when they are slain you free their soul to be reborn.

Extras:
Through slaying demons you will gain pages for your karmic codex, as well as items that will show up in the gift room. Some of those items will provide buffs. Yes you can unlock a puppy, no I won't tell you how :p

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#8Graphics(Jam)4.69
#30Audio(Jam)4.05
#33Humor(Jam)3.87
#36Mood(Jam)4.02
#43Overall(Jam)3.96
#48Innovation(Jam)3.86
#56Fun(Jam)3.75
#387Theme(Jam)3.16

Comments

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22pm

FYI- Hardmode is intended for people who do data entry as a day job, because the game is way easy for them.

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15am

That was really awesome. Great idea and execution. The music that played when you failed was incredible.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09am

I love the art work - it's beautiful.

Ditto says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08am

Haha, never played a dog prankcalling demons before, this is the first!^^ That was pretty fucking awesome! Good job!

spotco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:22am

beautiful artwork and one of the strangest games I've ever played (good thing)

Cosmonautas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26am

Nice Job xD

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32am

I don't know if it's a glitch or I just failed miserably, but often times a number would be switching insanely fast with another number underneath. I could click the right number but the game wouldn't move on and I couldn't progress.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34am

Badass.

4xisblack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:38am

This is my first 5 star game of the jam! The art, lore, humour and music all coordinate to produce something truly striking. Miss u Phil Horse D:

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:41am

Holy dogs**t. I don't know what kind of medicines did you take before LD, but this is just crazy. I love it :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49am

Awesome graphics and mood and innovative gameplay.

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19am

Who knew repaying karmic debt was so much fun? Makes me want to go and accumulate some more. I loved the premise of this and the atmosphere was incredible - artwork, sound, the lot. A lot of depth and polish for a jam game too.

My only complaint (and this is a very subjective one) is that I had to look at the keypad while typing and so missed out on a lot of the awesome visuals. But this is my fault really for not being able to touch type...

Anyway, superb work. One of my favourites so far.

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20am

@Coopnasty the number scrambling is intentional (it's tied to demon suffixes, so some demons are naughtier than others) however there is a slight bug in that the scrambled number doesn't turn black along with the real number underneath. Hopefully this is something I can fix later on cos I think it requires redoing the UI. The scrambled numbers were an afterthought when I realised programmers and people who deal with Excel daily were way too good at it :P

If you see the fire particles above the scramble it means you got it and can move on.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:22am

the art work is realy good.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10am

nice game

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17am

Really cool game, especially loved the art. Really great work!

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Outstandingly awesome! The visuals are amazing, the atmosphere is great, love the quirkiness and the game is about phone-dogs! The only thing I didn't like was that I can't take time to look at the cool art or read the names while battling unless I want to lose very soon after.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Now this is trippy and cool concept, really nice sounds and graphics in this game. Too bad I have to look the keypad to be able play fast enough and I miss all the cool visuals.

0x0961h says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Wow, that looks... pretty strange, yet very awesome. Good job on it! :)

Ryusui says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07am

Love it, but then I'm the sort of person who gets a cathartic vibe from hammering in numbers to slay a demon. :3

My only issue is that I'd love some kind of windowed mode option - Alt+Enter doesn't work.

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:21am

The music and art were top notch! I feel like this game is an accountant's wet dream (or anyone else who uses a numpad professionally).

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:50pm

What the hell is that? :) Graphics are great, sounds are great, a lot of humor, everything so bizzare. One of my favourits.

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:41pm

The art, the gameplay... just, wow so weird and awesome. Great job!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Amazing. The game feels super complete and polished, I love the art style and especially the character designs. The gameplay is original and fun, too. The difficulty was just a bit hard, those scrambled numbers always got me!

Kep says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:52pm

I've never seen a 10key typing game before. Neat!
Innovation++

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:41am

Man ,that was a tough game totally awesome work though

Katamori says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Damn sick, and still enjoyable! Strongly enjoyable! Amazing fusion of the two!

And yeah, amazing graphics of course. I have to say I truly loved it.

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Strange... I like it!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Well, that was interesting. Too bad I'm not used to using the numpad so I had to look at the keyboard a lot while playing and thus missed a lot of stuff. Didn't make it too far even after a few tries, but the aesthetics were brilliant.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Er, what did I just play ? I don't know if I missed something but I didn't get much backstory at the beginning so I was very confused about who I was and what I was doing X).

jerombd says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Can I rate 10 stars on the Graphics rating? :D
The audio part is crazy too (don't mention the funny backstory), but I think the gameplay lacks of something: it gets too repetitive/tedious unfortunately (maybe I'm missing something....).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]