Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ice

by ice cold muffin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

#1 Important thing: there is no music (...time), so before playing open up Spotify or something - and you'll have the mood! ;)

#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#

Conquer new stations and build your army of ant-like-ships. Find out the rest by actually playing the game. If you are a Mac or Linux kind of a guy come there later - there will be ports for you too!


Some technical stuff:
Created using MonoGame Framework in C#, VisualStudio with some help from Inkcape and Paint.NET.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#74Fun3.80
#88Graphics4.03
#124Overall3.73
#291Theme3.61
#340Mood3.25
#528Audio2.75
#677Innovation3.00
#776Humor2.00

Comments

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:13am

The file is deleted...

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30am

404 on the link

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25pm

The files are now fine. I had to move them to my shared folder =)

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15pm

I also did some flocking stuff, so perhaps I'm a little biased...but this is really cool. Eventually I was playing at 1 fps and it never seemed to finish when I took everything, but still really interesting and fun game.

Mistabeen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17pm

This was surprisingly addictive, it took however longer to finish because of how crazy laggy it got once I controlled about 50% of the field. Every time the swarm settled around a new node it would take quite a while before everything ran smooth again.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Thanks for feedback! I made some small tweaks, so now the game utilizes multiple cpu cores, so everything should run smoothly.

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Really looks good. The instructions in the beginning were great help. :)

Contraspect says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42pm

This was hard, but so much fun!

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Hahaha this game is fantastic. Yet another game where technically simple graphics can be so aesthetically pleasing. It's clear that you really wanted the theme to be strength in numbers, but connected worlds works too. Really fun. Managed to beat it in about 10 mins.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55pm

I really love this game. The clean play with colors and shapes is pure eye candy. Well done!!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Very good game, hard but fun

Zathalos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Decent game. Reminded me of the galcon games. I wish the game moved a little faster and I could send units in multiple directions. The first time I also got owned by orange. Overall I would say it's a good game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Really great clean art work, perfect text choice. Enjoyable game play and all around great simple design

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Very good game !
I love colors and font's effect !

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57pm

+fullscreen
+feels completed
-music
-font (hard to read)

doomista says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Know a similar game on Windows Phone Store, but this one is more complex and much harder. Nice work :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Makes fun dude!

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Nice and challenging. Could've done with a bit of music to help with the mood.

StMatn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Yery nice game!
Had to play again after winning, because it feels quite nice to command those huge clusters of ships :)
I liked to zoom quite a bit out to have some overview, which made the station health unreadable, but thats no huge down point.
I can't tell you why, but I found the "OK" on the win screen quite funny :D
Very solid entry!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:50pm

sweet! I really like this!

Slikker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Really fun to play well done! I like the art style as well.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:00am

Super cool RTS. It would have been nice to be able to split your units into smaller groups, but it's still a lot of fun the way it is - simple and tactical. Solid execution. I like it!

xandy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06am

nice take on the old game principle. good sound and graphics!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Pretty cool! Seemed to have to keep remaining my units to attack bases, and got absolutely curb-stomped by about 3 different teams at once :p But very well presented & nifty little RTS idea!

pLaw says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:49pm

I like the minimalistic presentation, looks polished.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:55pm

You are obviously a true gamer and your game shows that. EASY=BORING and CHALLENGING=FUN. Congrats on building a game hardcore gamers will enjoy!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Really cool game, I love the visuals!

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Damn this is amazing! Such a simple idea, yet really enjoyable gameplay. Took a bit to get a game going where I wasn't completely dominated by the AI but then it was just really fun to run around with a big cloud of units killing everything! Graphics were also really great and minimalistic, and the audio that was there was fitting as well. Really amazing entry!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I like this game. It would be nice to split forces up but other than that a solid game.

Otopkin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Definitely the best game I've played so far and one of the few I kept playing after i beat it once. You should polish it and turn it into a real game (I would if I were you). There were scary moments where both I and the AI were pushing a base and I was just praying to god that I would take it. I'm not sure how you decide who wins it, if it's the one who's dealt the most damage that's great, if it's the one who last hits it that's bullshit. I ended up getting the base all the times so I don't care. Also splitting forces.

Otopkin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

I won't leave a comment because I'm a douche.

shit

mechabit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Nice game, shame you can't split your force

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Awesome game, but the AI could use some work.

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:46am

A really solid, minimalist RTS game. I could never beat the computer, but I had a lot of fun playing it.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:38am

I loved the graphics style! Game itself is fun but I didn't understand how the dotted lines formed. Enjoyed it though. Good job!

H1S2 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:47am

great game! very cool, simple graphics and audio. i liked the concept as well, thou the desition about win or lose is made very early. one of my favorites so far!

Mapboy says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:10pm

This was loads of fun, I enjoyed it.

romandtom says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:17pm

really liked it, reminds me of aoe for some reason
played on my android ;)
was epic

jo tha says ...
Oct 30, 2014 @ 5:45pm

a multiplayer version of this were everyone controls one swarm would be epic :D
ever thougth of this ice cold muffin ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]