Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Brief Excursion

by MalphasWats - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm fairly happy with this overall. I'm particularly pleased with the randomly generated worlds and the way the bat-fiend things follow you when they see you!

Sounds are a little ropey. I struggle with those.

Initially, I wasn't sure it was all that much fun, but once I started going through more portals and trying to find the items, I realised that it's not quite as easy as walking around and bashing bat-fiends...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Humor3.25
#745Mood2.77
#811Fun2.75
#827Graphics2.67
#836Audio2.15
#868Overall2.89
#925Theme2.64
#1062Innovation2.37
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44am

Having random worlds is nice, but I feel like these are way too big and empty, so there's a lot of walking with no sound or music to fill the time.

Didn't initially realize I could dig in the walls until I tried it randomly and noticed it worked.

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

Player movement could be a teeny bit faster..

c023-dev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50am

Heya! Loved the comments of the dude! Grafix are fair enough too. And the whole presentation and setup is neat! Enemy AI is cool. Solid work! Congratulations!

polarkac says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:52am

Idea is basic. I played about 4 worlds and it was just walking with spacebar down. I cant avoid damage. For me its quite boring.

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37am

Thanks for the feedback! I think I learnt a lot technically this time around, but I definitely have a long way to go to actually create a *fun* game! It's a LOT harder than I expected it to be!

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Lol, the birds a the end got me. Were the animations time based? it seems the sounds slowed down when the fps slowed down.

In any case this goes under another hypnotizing LD game. I couldn't stop playing. Graphics and movement were nice. Well done.

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I actually found this pretty fun even though the gameplay was relatively simple. It would have been nice to see more enemy variety or other similar things, but I still enjoyed this and thought generated levels worked really well!

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Simple but relaxing to break the dirt

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Thanks! Yeah, I was a bit lazy with a simple frame rate - linked timer for the sounds. It struggles to keep the FPS up as you go deeper. I think I got a but carried away with the number of Bat Fiends :)

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Nice start, the procedural worlds are well done. But it would be more fun if you could kill the bats, or maybe have some indication of where the thing you're supposed to find is?

Oana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:18am

Thanks for trying my game!

I found your game to be quite fun overall, with a few minor issues. The most significant one is lack of hit animation. I'm still not quite sure how combat works. It seems that if stuff is within a certain distance and I hit space, it dies. But bats always get to hit me first, no matter what I do. In the 3rd world I ended up with TONS of bats, and very few mushrooms. I guess I was supposed to avoid them and only hit them as a last resort? But there were too many of them for that, surrounding me eventually.

Congrats on finishing the game! This could actually turn into a commercial title with some polish and more content!

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:24pm

More tactical than it first looks, spoiled a little by the sheer amount of mushrooms available. A fun game, if a little easy :)

malf says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:42pm

The comments of the player were great fun , the gameplay needs alittle more variety :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]