Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connector World

by Tom 7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a short HTML5 puzzle-adventure game. Just needs a mouse and one button; I hope to get it working with touch events during the porting period.
It will only work right in Chrome and Firefox (music, at a minimum) and you might need a fast computer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#11Humor4.16
#73Overall3.83
#75Innovation3.95
#186Audio3.39
#200Fun3.52
#255Theme3.67
#257Mood3.35
#261Graphics3.60

Comments

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

I loved this little game! The more "inventive" solutions to the puzzles were unexpected and great!
Nice :D

maloki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

The controls felt unwieldy at first, but once I got the hang of it, it played okay. I loved the last few bits! I wondered if I missed something and had to reset, but no! Good job! :D

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

Ohhh, I just got how it's related to the theme. Currently laughing.
ok, this game is great; good art, the soundtrack is utterly fitting, the dialogue is funny ( "you seem to think this is a game, which is weird"), and the puzzles are very difficult.
it's kinda awkward when you're able to suddenly drag a really long wire off the grid, though. Don't know what to suggest there. Also, it would make more sense if the 'goal plugs' could face up and down instead of just left and right.

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37am

This is the funniest game in the compo, no question.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Thanks everybody :) Miziziziz: If I understand what you mean, plugs satisfying the goal can face any direction, but the space they point at has to be clear.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Really funny game. Well done. I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/W46twhRFdK8

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Haha, this is amazing! And strangely satisfying

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25am

Really great take on the theme, and funny dialog as well. I did get stumped on the puzzle in the screenshot... Possibly missing the goal connector...?

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:44am

@mattperrin: All the puzzles are solvable (and that's the last one), but your current approach may not be right.

Sogomn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Very cool game! Only complain is that is has nothing to do with 'worlds'. But its fun to play!

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:35am

"Oh yeah, sometimes there are metal balls around. I don't know what that's all about..."

Had me laughing haha, good game man. I like how you made it "connect" and humor the player.

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:44am

I found this game to be incredibly clever, what a great entry!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:47am

Haha i love this game, I laughed in the end when I beat the "unsolvable" puzzle. Great game! The only complain I have is extending wire always accidentally trigger the moving which is pretty annoying.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:14am

My major complaint was the controls. Moving around was initially frustrating.. A reset button would have been nice as well. Also, the connection to the theme was a bit weak.

Otherwise, I thought it was great. Cute cartoony art style, interesting gameplay, fun dialog, and I loved the last level. It took me a while to figure out but I got it. Very nice job.

FYI, it ran perfectly on my core 2 duo macbook air using chrome.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:59am

That last puzzle took me a bit to figure out. I almost gave up on it. I had the right idea, but it took me a bit to do it the way you intended. Very funny game. I enjoyed it :)

Lyszie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:12am

Fun to play, love the puzzles! It's easy to figure out how to play but the puzzles are just the right difficulty :)

radmars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:16am

Nice!! Amazing puzzle design and it's hilarious as per usual. Some of the mouse control feels pretty wonky though, like when you try to connect things that won't work (or just drag working ones too far) and it jumps into full drag mode. Kinda wish there was a key that showed which bits connect together since I forgot really fast & having to get the orientation right threw me off on the 2nd metal ball level. Loved the ending, and great music of course. Awesome :D

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

The interface was a bit tricky--I often moved the whole cable when I just wanted to drag one end. Still, the puzzles were challenging (especially the last few) and the tutorial was really helpful.

Sestren says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

Really neat take on the theme, and a unique puzzle idea. Also, I loved the dialog. Had me laughing out loud several times. "No more of that, ok?"

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:41pm

That's a nice little game. Interesting take on theme. Would like it little more if there was more impact on having the working busines - selling cables in a given time, buying resources and so on ;) All in all great entry!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Ahaha, awesome out of the box thinking,
the last level was really fun :D

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Super funny! Love the music too : D nice job dude.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:23am

Thank you everybody who found it funny or some other positive quality! :)

Morusque says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

USB to RCA connectors, I've always been looking for those !

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Nice little puzzle game! Surprisingly well put together and addictive. The rules for success were a little confusing; it wasn't clear why it worked in some cases but not in others.

Would be great to have a "reset" option, and the option to put cables back in the box.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:55pm

love the classic DOS feel of the game, innovative and enjoyable, good job

Sestren says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:38am

I missed it at first, but after playing this game again, I now realize that you took on the Theme from more than one angle. Previously, I gave you a 4 on Theme, but I'm now amending that to a 5. I love this entry!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Hi there. Unusual game idea. Found it tricky to identify the parts from the pixelart pics... could try things. Chiptunes and art fit together.

Dohan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:18pm

While I liked the two final puzzles, I was also enjoying the "normal" mechanics. Also, the art and music are very similar to the ones in computer games from a lot of years back!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I love the style of this. the music fits it well and the game was a lot of fun.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:34pm

The controls annoyed the crap out of me, but fix that and I think you'll have a great game on your hands.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]