Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dream Witch Erika

by SimonLarsen - Jam Entry

DREAM WITCH ERIKA

Oh no, the villagers in the meadow are all having bad nightmares, as Dream Witch Erika it's your job to
Navigate the dream world searching for power-ups and free the villagers from their night terrors!

CONTROLS

* Move with WASD
* Attack with J
* Jump with K or W
* Dash with L
* Tab toggles map
* Hold I to leave dream world
* When against a wall press away from wall then jump to wall jump

SOME FEATURES ARE UNLOCKD AS YOU PROGRESS!

MADE BY TANGRAM GAMES

Simon Larsen (@SimonLarsen) - Programming, level design
Lukas Hansen (@LukasErritsoe) - Graphics, level design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#24Mood(Jam)4.09
#27Graphics(Jam)4.49
#35Overall(Jam)4.00
#71Fun(Jam)3.69
#83Theme(Jam)3.80
#92Audio(Jam)3.74
#196Innovation(Jam)3.40
#240Humor(Jam)2.77

Comments

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01am

Love it!, I want more of this game. The attack could use a bit more range. But Overall its a great concept and game.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15pm

thems some creep clown face doors. love the theme and pixel art

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19pm

An old school platformer, really well executed. The audio and graphic design is great. I enjoyed this game very much, thanks for making it!

Contraspect says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24pm

I'm a bit confused, I can't seem to reach anywhere and pressing L doesn't do anything. However, the graphics are lovely!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Attack is way too slow, it should hit quicker or reach farther out, and the enemies don't get knocked back it seems. I died quite a lot because fighting is very imprecise and jumping over them only works if there's 1 or maybe 2 not too close.

And there's a time limit? Why? It seems extremely counterintuitive in a game based around exploration.

I feel like a potentially great game got pulled down by these unfortunate weights. It seemed really promising at first.
I managed to get the double jump and the block breaking skills before giving up..

The graphics are really sweet though. Sounds are alright, the music is pretty nice. I also liked how the doors are faces and you hit them to open them. And that it saves your gained powers is very nice.

Oh, one more thing: on the starting screen, it wasn't really obvious that "attack" is also "enter world". Took me a while.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59pm

I love what you did theme, and the art was incredible! loved every single bit :)

the walljumps are pretty hard tho
you should stick to walls like .25 of a second so it's easier to preform ^^

luduspactum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58pm

It was fun to play and I love how it plays out the part of the game related to the theme. Really love the concept. I would love to see a slightly different graphics in each dream, tho.

That, and the controls. I do feel that where too many buttons and the jump/attack was a little bit messy. Maybe it's because I normally play with a control, so.

Cool experience overall 4/5 8)

ZwodahS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Good job. Nice game. ;D

danbo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:47pm

I really liked this. The notion of adding a limited-time mechanic to a Metroid game is really cool to me, letting you progress into areas that perhaps you shouldn't yet if you're really good.

The graphics and style were pretty ace, punching clowns in the face is much better than generic sci-fi doors. Music got a little repetitive but hey it's there and it's music

It took me a while to figure out that the different villagers were different warp points into the same map - not a bad thing, just a slight observation. And, well, that goes pretty nice for "connected worlds", huh?

The only flaw I could really find with the game honestly is that walljumping is really fiddly and tricky. These things are hard to do, but that aside it's a really solid, complete game.

You did a good job!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Well this is a beautiful game! Plays pretty well, too. There are a lot of platformers this year, but this stands out!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:43am

At first I was a bit confused at the controls as the I and L didn't do anything. It took a while to get that you could smack the mouth open. After discovering that, there was a nice progression. I enjoyed discovering each of the rooms and finding out what was luring behind each doorway. Overall I like the game especially the character.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Eyah! The best game on this LD. I really impressed with your work. And HOW HUGE IS THIS!
Very small amount of people understand how hard you work all three days to make this game. I made something similar on previous LD. So I'm understand.
I like everything in your game. "Dreams" concept is one of my favorites so I were in ecstasy =)
Visual are good, music fit the theme. And Idea that dreams is world which connected with each other IS AWESOME PERFECT!
Thank you so much, I'M CRYING!

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:37pm

The pixel art looks like from fez, but the game seems to be very fun to play :)

Pfeyffer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:36am

I did not rate the game. Unfortunately I could not do anything besides running and jumping. But all the worlds were empty and nothing happened. The tab key opened two empty boxes. Probably a bug in the OSX port.

xRubbermaid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:57am

I cannot believe how much work you crammed in to the 72 hours, but it's definitely paid off. Definitely one of my favourites, even if I had to give up after only completing two dreams (couldn't master the double jump).

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:19am

I get 404 This is not the webpage you are looking for.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:21am

Huh.. Have you killed repository? Links aren't working anymore.

SimonLarsen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:26pm

@eemmbbeerr and @kibertoad: I think GitHub might've had some temporary problems. Seems to be working again now. Thanks for the heads up though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]