Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Sweeper

by pansapiens - Jam Entry

TL;DR: Left click to try and find planets. It's a bit like Minesweeper meets Battleships in space.

You are a member of the elite Planet Sweeper team, tasked with discovering new planets throughout the galaxy. Fire anti-graviton bursts to detect gravity wells and discover new worlds - but don't delay - there are other entities within the galaxy also searching for planets to colonize.

= How to play =

* Click the left mouse button to fire anti-graviton particle bursts.
* Try to click on a planet to discover it.
* Watch the flow of particles to detect the location of planets - anti-gravitons are repelled by mass and take a path around or away from gravity wells.
* You may fire one anti-graviton burst each turn, after which your turn ends.
* Turns last a maximum of 15 seconds before the opposing players turn automatically starts.
* Anti-graviton bursts leave a zone of depletion that prevents another burst being fired in the vicinity for the next turn.
* The first player to discover 16 planets wins.

[Minor bug note: It looks like if you miss your turn, the AI (and UI popups) go a bit haywire .. so don't miss your turn :) -- thx MarekkPie for uncovering this]


= Notes =

The AI cheats a little, but I've also tried to make its moves somewhat plausible.

There are two game modes - Human vs. AI, and a local Human vs. Human mode. For the local two player game, each player needs to pass the mouse to the other player when their turn is done. This is a bit of a dumb way to do a two player game, but the ultimate intention is for players to take turns when sharing a tablet device (or use gamepads and/or network play).

= Credits & tools =

All code from scratch, except for generic stuff from my base code repo (SoundManager, MusicManager, SiteLock, Autoscreenshot from https://github.com/omgwtfgames/unity-bowerbird) and libraries (NGUI, GoKit, LeanTween, TouchScript [unused], Chevy Ray's great little ObjectPool, CSharpMessengerExtended).

Music made with NodeBeat, extra synth tone sfx made with Abelton Live 8 (Pad-Sweet Meditation).

I basically followed compo rules except for two sound effects that I couldn't be bothered making new versions of in bfxr ... oh, and having a relaxed jam by taking 72 hours.

The font is Orbitron Black.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#24Innovation(Jam)4.14
#108Fun(Jam)3.57
#121Mood(Jam)3.66
#126Overall(Jam)3.63
#221Graphics(Jam)3.78
#255Audio(Jam)3.34
#260Theme(Jam)3.43

Comments

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11am

It seems as though the game will not start when I click on either option on the title screen.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23am

@Maxium - it's probably the Unity web player being flakey - I've uploaded standalone builds as an alternative.

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27am

Nice particle effects. Makes me think of battle star galactica :P

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:32am

This is awesome! Really fun, love the visuals, very relaxing watching the little anti-gravitons flying off ^.^

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:33am

One of my favorite game of this LD, what an incredible game this is! The graphics is really nice and the idea is fresh and interesting. It is a bit hard in the beginning but I was slowly catching up with the AI. The only issue is that it does not reflect the theme too much (a little but not too much I think). But yea wow that was a great game, well done!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:37am

Oh one suggestion, I wish I can place down markers for future reference like what you do in mine sweeper because I can spot multiple planets at once but I have to use my fingers to mark the locations on the screen right now.

Dabuuker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:37am

This is a fun game. It took some time to figure it out but I had lots of fun. Great game and awesome idea :)

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:56am

Wow, I love everything about this game! It has space, it has physics, it has cool graphics... this is amazing, well done!

The AI might be cheating a bit, but I still managed to win! Hooray for the human race :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:00am

Great game! Particles just beautiful! It's really fun to play with 2 players! Good job!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:34am

would be nice to have single player mode and see how quickly you can find all the planets

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:34am

Nice game and good use of those particles :)

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10am

Nice game, congrats!

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:41am

Super fun. AI is a cheater at the end.

steve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Lovely game, would be awesome on an ipad!

rojo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:15am

Really liked the concept behind this game. It was fun to watch the particles fly around the screen and try to figure out where stuff is. Good job!

dtruby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:04am

Very pretty, nice concept. Unfortunately mouse clicks are mirrored on the x axis for me, so it was very difficult to play. I don't know if this was to strengthen ties to battleship, or if it's a bug, but it doesn't seem to add anything to me.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:16am

@dtruby - not a feature so presumably a bug (mine or Unity's). Were you using the web player version, or one of the standalone builds ?

psychonull says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:30am

loved the particles, calm music, entertaining. nice work!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:16am

This is pretty great.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Hi there. Lovely graphics. Players might need to switch Tabs in browser and back to get the start menu to work... Like the sound, played a couple of games. Love the motion of the purple particles. Good job!

INC$D021 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Awesome, one of the best games. I played it again and again. :) The small planets are hard to hit ;)
It's almost like meditating ;)

CogComp says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Beautiful game! Really relaxing and tricky!

TimtheBo says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Awesome game! The end took a while, though.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Neat! I enjoyed playing against the AI, even if it was tricky to click exactly on some of the smaller planets. It looks really pretty with the little particle trails, and the music is nice and calming.

airdeck says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:17am

This was a really cool idea and a lot of fun to play. You should really continue to work on thus further post-jam.

qualia says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:10pm

(same poster as dtruby) Web player or download? I think I was on Windows, so probably the web player? The linux download seems to behave itself :)
This game is a lot more fun when it works! I think it might be the best game I've played this LD. Nice work!

Thanks for your suggestions on our game! I'm getting around to working on a post-compo version. I've already implemented green planet depletion, but I hadn't thought of red planets killing you instantly - thanks :)

- Qualia

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Nice original idea

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]