Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dream World

by GaTechGrad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Adventure through the connected dream worlds to find the clarity of your true reality.

Controls:
Arrow Keys to move
Spacebar to Jump

Note: The game may take about 90 seconds to load. Please allow the plugin to continue if your browser thinks it has stopped responding.
Note: Background and audio assets are not included with source code.

Tools used:
Engine - Stencyl 3.1.0 (used standard behaviors such as "Jump and Run Movement")
Audio - Audacity 2.0.3, Bfxr 1.3.3, Garage Band (Mac)
Graphics - Taron's Verve Painter 0.99u.12, Gimp 2.8, Inkscape 0.48, Spriter b10

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#138Mood3.57
#336Audio3.09
#407Humor2.55
#484Graphics3.19
#802Overall2.96
#840Theme2.81
#934Fun2.60
#1027Innovation2.43

Comments

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20am

Good job on the surreal atmosphere. The parallax backgrounds (especially with the texture and blending) and the voice-overs were good (though given the length of the game, you might reduce the frequency).

peejaygee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:01pm

I really enjoyed the parallax effect, it takes me back.. :) only thing I found weird was the "let go of the controls and still slide but facing towards the user" issue.. Overall though, I enjoyed the game, simple to grasp, simple to play [KGD]

vinull says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I will confess I got to the fourth stage but did not finish - the movement felt a little slow and there wasn't any new items or abilities so I stopped. The background art was cool (loved the Dali clocks) and the voice overs were a great touch. Really made me want to kill some bunnies!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51am

The backgrounds are trippy and really compliment the game well, great job! :)

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:42pm

I really like the parallax background and the music is pretty cool too. I kept hoping for a power-up that would let me shoot the stuffing out of those evil red bear/rabbit things. Or are they vampire rabbits? Whatever they are, I kept my distance.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:24am

Very surreal, not sure about that voice over.

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:31pm

very creepy game man imo! but i assume you deliberately made this game this way especially the voices in the game. had some trouble moving the player but the game is still good!
great job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:52pm

A bit creepy, but I liked it. I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/KmqpyEAAVGM

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

Really trippy. This is some weird stuff. I wish I could jump on the baddies!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

Some mood going on here for sure! Very odd and trippy, I wish I could jump on the baddies though.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

What a funky game! The movement felt a little sluggish though.

Squidtank says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

The voice-over really creeped me out and I think I could live without it. Maybe it was too loud? I felt like it was really jarring. There was also the sliding movement but other than that I really like it. The backgrounds and music really set the mood and atmosphere!

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

Felt surreal and trippy, as well as unsettling.

fauge says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

When you jump everything moved...got me dizzy but good work!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

"The Fall" don't make video games, but if they did then this would be the result. Were you channeling Mark E Smith? It would certainly explain why I liked the music a lot yet my wife found it creepy!

Enjoyed the game, and the backgrounds were vibrant.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I like the graphics, the audio, and the parralex scrolling. I remember the day I discovered that real life had paralex scrolling...

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:00am

aaaaah so weird! and yet so cool! nice graphics and audio, great parallax for the background, cute protagonist, what else? Great job!

rantt says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:04am

The graphics and music were awesome. Good game, I enjoyed it.

Kate Kligman says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:59am

Trippy! Liked the graphics of the planets in the background. Music was interesting, the narration worked with the drumbeat.

howkj1 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:08pm

This one is kinda scary. I did like the coin noises and traditional platformer sound effects. Voiceovers and music and little red guys are sure to give nightmares to little kids! :-o

klianc09 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Really WTF atmosphere (in a good way). I want to jump on those rabbits heads! It's just very unforgiving, when you touch a rabbit at the end of a level and you have to walk aaaaallll the way to the end again.

It feels really repetitive and slow. Still I continued, hoping something new would happen, until I got stuck at one level because the jump was impossible to make.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:34am

That was very surreal indeed, I think you captured the feel of a nightmare scape pretty well? I'd possibly tweak the character's inertia, it feels a little slow just now. The music was a tad odd, but I just assumed that was intentional to fit the theme! :) Again, good job! :)

Shivur says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:10am

Loved the surrealistic mood!

CartoonJenn says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:41am

Great graphics!

loadsofmana says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:01am

I really like the backdrops and overall weirdness...not the most interesting plat-former though.

MRvanderPants says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Great mood! The voice clips really adds up to the atmosphere

Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:41pm

It sure looks psychedelic ='). The controls were a bit difficult to handle (that teddy bear slides a lot), otherwise it was fine.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Trippy, awesome graphics and soundscape :D

skiddings says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Certainly sets an unsettling mood.

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:29am

I'm so perplexed. . .

Tosic says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I like the graphics, but sounds are little annoying, but it is still a cool game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]