Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sandbox Battle

by jpverkamp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: If you're having problems playing (especially if the boxes stick to the bottom of the screen), it's probably because the entire frame the game is in cannot fit on your screen at once. Try the alternate link.

Instructions
- You have 60 seconds to collect as much sand as you can
- Each player's sand falls to the bottom of their tile
- Colliding with other players will steal their sand
- Choose options for keyboard controls and to enable multiplayer

Comments
- Libraries used: jQuery, Boostrap
- Graphics generated in Photoshop CS6

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#211Innovation3.63
#623Fun2.97
#776Mood2.74
#844Graphics2.65
#862Overall2.90
#1066Theme2.30

Comments

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06am

Having some trouble getting it to work right now.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

Oh crap I might have scored it on accident. It first makes me go to a second link called Sand Battle! and then the boxes all stick to the bottom right corner.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14am

It would be advantageous to stay at bottom, at least, when vs AI.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01pm

If you're having problems playing (especially if the boxes stick to the bottom of the screen), it's probably because the entire frame the game is in cannot fit on your screen at once. Try the alternate link.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20pm

All the boxes stick to the bottom right corner. I tried both links and there wasn't a difference.

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Awesome funny little game. I really enjoyed this :)

Rialgar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Interesting idea, though leaving the bottom is something you quickly notice is a bad idea, because at the bottom loosing sand is virtually impossible. Maybe force the player to leave the bottom by opening his rect when touching it could be a neat trick, makes you try to hover as close to the bottom without touching it.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22pm

interesting concept, had fun playing it.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:23pm

@Rialgar: I thought about that, having sand just drain out if you hit the bottom. Ran out of time to actually get it working though.

Charlie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Interesting game. I tried the alternative link but I think I still have framerate issues.

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Very innovative and intriguing concept. The particle effects where you can see every grain of sand are really nice.
The gameplay is a bit confusing though. You say "colliding with other players will steal their sand". But if you're colliding with them, they're colliding with you... So it's not clear to me who will steal from whom, even after playing a couple of times. I played with a friend, she hid in in the bottom right corner, and I couldn't manage to steal her sand.

Shivur says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:15am

Very cool!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:59pm

That was a really neat game... cool idea! I wish there were some sounds and music though. Great work!

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I like the concept. This would be one of those games you just play in your free time. Similar to the original Pinball game on the old Windows operating systems.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:21pm

very interesting concept

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:58am

I was so lost nice concept though. damn sand theives

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Hi there. Novel idea. Won first game, I picked one of each of the AIs to play against. Interesting particulate graphics. Like the feel of the movement and the stealing of sand. Shame no sound. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]