Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spejsbryggan

by lightsoda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You connect platforms from point A to point B to get the little cubes where they need to go.

Check in-game help for more info on how to play.

If you have trouble building score, try building a bridge loop to stack up some easy points!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Audio3.75
#180Graphics3.78
#266Innovation3.54
#272Mood3.33
#485Theme3.35
#847Overall2.92
#950Fun2.58
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I dont get it? You just have way to less score to build more than one bridge? Even if i sacrifice some and get to, say, the fourth planet, then the first bridge decays and some are strandend and i have no score left to build the rest...

Any Introductionary Help (besides the help)?

lightsoda says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:55pm

@DrCicero, I added a note about that in the description, it seems I have a habit of creating games that are way too hard for newcomers...

hypp says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Sorry, I couldn't quite figure out what to do???

Akurn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05am

This is actually pretty cool once you figure it out. Was very confused at first, but the trick is to look around (using right click) for the other planet that you're supposed to transport the dudes to.
Graphics and Audio are amazing!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03am

Aw man the visual design looks real good.
A bit difficult to "get" the game.
But after a few tries i'm there...

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:15pm

WOW, very cool mechanics, i love that sacrifice option.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Tough to get into, but once the mechanics make sense this is a beautiful game.

tanjent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00pm

The right click to pan in the web browser is a bit hard to use since I manage to bring up the context menu in my browser sometimes (which messes quite a bit with the interaction). Also I think a mini map of the game world and a first level where the start and goal is just one bridge away would be enough to get one going (... and then ramp up the difficulty + explaining the bridge loop trick at level #5 or something).

Also I thought that the green arrows in the corner where some kind of decoration at first and that the bridge decay/pixel dissolve was a texture mapping glitch. An idea I got would be to replace the bridge graphics with a line of those (floating) green arrows (repeating like <<<<<)... I think that would have looked a lot cleaner and kept the tight abstract style even more streamlined.

Very good game with lots of potential for expansion when you grasp the mechanics. It just need some more trimming and user testing :)

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07am

Nice music.

Tommislav says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24am

I like the clean and abstract graphics a lot. Took a few plays before understanding how it works (right click to move was tricky to figure out, I guess I didn't read the help text well enough). Hardest thing is that those cubes can choose to stay on the planet and not use the bridge.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Simple yet beautiful graphics, neat game.

nilstastic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Pros: Very nice graphics and good audio! And once i got the hang of it it was quite fun. =)
Cons: A bit confusing

barryrowe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Like others have said, this took a little time to understand what was going on. I think it hurt me more, since I'm on a laptop and the rightclick to view the world is pretty clunky with a touchpad (I didn't hold that against you score-wise though, I could easily have used a mouse). I like the audio and animations. I think with some tweaking on the starting credits and positions of planets this could be a very nice puzzler.

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:47am

Beautiful audio and lovely clean graphics. The gameplay itself was great if a little buggy at times. Also, I think a lot of the levels generated seemed to be impossible to complete (takes more than 30 to build the first bridge, for example)? Still, a fun experience with loads of potential.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Pretty colours and sweet music! :)
I experienced some mouse movement lag, other than that it felt like a solid entry. I began by just building bridges on the start island, I'm not sure that was meant to be possible?

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Hi there. Interesting abstract approach to lemmings-like. I found it tricky to build suitable bridges, often had to restart to get something playable. After right-clicking for the pan/move camera, I found that the bridge building was broken (on Chrome/W8.1). Nice sounds as well as graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]