Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frog, Raccoon, Mosquito

by clofresh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The frog, raccoons and mosquitos are all connected in their water/land/air worlds.

If you get eaten by one animal, your spirit gets transformed into the animal that ate you. The goal is to eat as many other animals as you can.

As a frog:

* space - charge a jump, let go to jump. The longer you hold, the further/higher the jump
* a - points left
* d - points right

As a racoon:

* space - claw
* w - enter stealth mode. Can't get killed by mosquitos
* s - exit stealth mode. Moves faster
* a/d - move left/right

As a mosquito:

* w/s/a/d - point in that direction
* space - fly in that direction

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#367Humor2.65
#524Innovation3.19
#798Theme2.88
#1038Mood2.26
#1075Fun2.32
#1093Overall2.54
#1093Graphics2.17
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:44am

HAHA what a cool idea! Can't wait to try it out.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15am

the name caught my eye... and the gameplay kept me playin. Good job

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18am

Sorry my screen is too small for this game... But i like the idea of combining 3 controls!

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28am

LOL, what a crazy game. I love the concept, and the fact that the setting stays the same each time you transform. It makes the worlds seem very connected (aha!). Anyway, I'm not sure which one's hardest... probably the raccoon. The frog's controls are the most difficult but it's easy to catch mosquitos on accident. The mosquito's controls are crazy, lol, they glitch sometimes but in a fun way. Great work!

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57am

Fun game, good use of the theme.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

sadly it does not work for me..

mail.lua:4 attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)

any idea on how to get it to work. I am running it under linux

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

The mosquito is nearly impossible to control, I can't see what direction I'm facing. Also why is the sprite quality so random?

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:53pm

@mess110 You'll need the latest version of love (0.9.1) from here: http://love2d.org/. Might not be in your package repo yet.

@BubbleChien Yeah, I wanted to add analog stick gamepad support for the mosquito which would make the controls much more precise, but ran out of time. Also spent way too much time painting the frog and had to rush the raccoon in order to get the mechanics done.

I'll probably keep working on the game after the compo to polish the stuff I didn't get to.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Curious take on the theme. Nice use of same controls in multiple different ways. Didn't feel like the game was really proceeding anywhere though.

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I would never have thought of this. Very funny idea.

fizzd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:48pm

The way your spirit transfers is actually a really cool idea. I wish that there was some visual indication of which animal you were, though, a few times i thought i was a frog when it turned out i was the mosquito hehe. Shame it wasn't expanded much, but you have some good ideas !

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I can't really follow what character I am.

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Was pretty lost for a while but eventually went back to read what the controls were and what was happening. I think if it were just more obvious what was happening, and maybe have a 'divebomb' hold mechanic for the mosquito similar to the frog, it could become something very interesting.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17pm

I only played as frog... I think? I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/8xjQ7S7Vv10

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:18pm

The game is quite difficult, especially playing as mosquito, but is original

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Interesting game. A bit disorienting though, had to read through the controls a couple of times before I could figure out what the mozzie was doing! Tried to eat a frog or two, never could - raccoons get instagibbed by those mosquitoes!

magmaCrab says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:26am

Nice take on the theme! It's more of a toy than a game, but i enjoyed it. Difficult to see what animal you are though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]