Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Encounter console

by Peping - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Encounter Console is a short interactive adventure. Help bridge the gap between a virtual world and "the outside", reality.

The game features 3 minigames, all controled through custom console via keyboard. Some replies from the game are dynamic and can change based on events outside game.

This is my first Compo entry.

Download the source code at:
http://ld30.peping.cz/bugfix1/source.zip
http://ld30.peping.cz/encounterConsole-source2.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#36Humor3.81
#40Fun3.92
#43Innovation4.08
#45Mood3.92
#47Overall3.92
#86Theme3.94
#223Audio3.31
#329Graphics3.47

Comments

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

Nice game ^^

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16am

Really nice to play. Feels like he really talk to me if I give him the correct answers at first questions about my name and stuff. The sound kinda annoy me after a while.

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:48am

Haha, good one! Very neat implementation of the console. It looks so nice and seems so intelligent....well it is, I'm sure! It did know, I was lying with the adress! Goddamit!

OadT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

Cool game, also really cool atmosphere, but I had a small problem. Before the 3. Minigame the game didn't accept 'help' as answer, so I started without knowing what to do. Then I made an invalid answer and couldn't see the field anymore because of the error messages. So maybe show the field again after an error message :)

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

Holy Sh*t!! I love the intro! I told me I love how (spoilers) it described to me what the thing I said was!!, amazing idea.

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01am

A cool idea, I had a lot of fun talking with our mysterious friend - I wish he/she/it had real general AI so we can have a chat haha. Eventually I failed at the maths challenges and gave up lol. The audio was a bit annoying when it was fast and repetitive, otherwise it was good!

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07am

Is this a bug? http://postimg.org/image/q8y2gv18z/

Apart from that, cool game!

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

@icedvariables: Yes, that was a bug. It's fixed now, I added a website for those who got stuck there: http://ld30.peping.cz/bugfix1/finalMinigame.html

Tarian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:21pm

I really enjoyed that, I almost gave up on the maths one, glad I persevered. Great game!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:01pm

The match challenges was too much for me, but this was pretty clever entry, Really liked the talking AI.

Morusque says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I love this game.

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20pm

This is such a good idea, really impressive job on the terminal emulator! One of the most immersive entries I've played, good job!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Challenging but fun. Good job!

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Very cool game, got me hooked for a relatively long time xD The expansion mini-game likely needs a checkpoint system after each level I think, but aside from that, everything about this screams polished and well-executed. Very awesome.

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Well realised console... felt quite spooky interacting with it!

Yoni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Great game! Nice riddles, pleasant audio, and a cute story, matching the theme!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Really fun, though sometimes pressing enter too much could really screw up some of the minigames haha. Because I couldn't see the grid I would have to just guess coordinates to fail and restart the minigame. Overall I really enjoyed this and think it would be cool to see more minigames,etc. Great job!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:22am

nice, very entertaining

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:23am

Very interesting game. Addicting... and story is interesting aswel! Good job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:26am

a realy great that makes you think twise. the best part is that it goes on for a long long time.

grifdail says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:33am

Who ! This is really awesome. It really put me in the mood !

Boberro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:35am

Looks very cool, but I had same problem as LTPATS - I pressed enter at begining of 3rd minigame, gibberish filled the screen and I wasn't able to solve it.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:36am

Nice job.

Aomeas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:13pm

That immersion was brilliant ! :D

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Very unusual gameplay. Cool Idea.

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:34pm

I LOVED it. My computer is alive!

ClownAround says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:17am

Fantastic concept. Executed very well. Loved the mini games.

chadiik says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Heheyy! Cool game, nice ending music!
The bugs while typing are really neat! :D

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Played with your 'AI' for a while. like the training quiz... Like the whole SFX around the console typing. Great sounds too, nice escalation as things develop. Very Dark Star sounds. Went wrong at second 'play', the coordinate entry for ABC|123 was not able to recover after I pressed Enter too early... which was a shame. Good job overall!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]