Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Star Bridger

by xhunterko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

As a galactic engineer, your job is to build bridges between planets making sure the worlds are connected. Watch out though! Stars, gas giants, and erratic pulsars stand in your way and destroy your bridges! Can you connect the worlds by building around your obstacles?

-Solve levels any way you want building massive space bridges!

-Watch out for pulsars, stars, and gas giants!

-Don't slip to your death! Stay on planets and bridges to keep safe!

-Note: If you run out of bridges, just restart the level by dying.

Used:
Haxeflixel
Flashdevelop
GraphicsGale
Gimp

To get the source, click the pink Download Now button on the Itchio page. Then click the link that says "No thanks, just take me to the downloads" to be taken directly to the source files.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Theme4.06
#149Innovation3.76
#523Overall3.24
#545Fun3.06
#704Graphics2.88
#2027Coolness17%

Comments

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Good, if somewhat literal, interpretation of the theme. Nice level progression.

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Cool game - I got some pretty bad slow down while walking though (maybe ~5fps)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31pm

The bridges are a but bulky but cool concept I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/W46twhRFdK8

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27am

Very cool, I really enjoyed the starfield and the graphics! Definitely follows the theme to the letter!

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:35am

Thanks for playing folk!
@01010111 Yeah, nothing much I can do there sadly. But I figured it's okay since it's not an action based type game.

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Nice idea. I would like to see some penalty for making the bridges too large, or some other restriction. As it is, the game is very easy. I like the graphics- simple but crisp.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:52am

Cool game, though I got some strange fps drops...

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Quite a nice mechanic, however the slow downs were very unfortunate.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:38pm

I like it!

stvr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:01am

I like the idea, although having to walk on the bridges seems unnecessary. You need to recycle those stars though, they're slowing you down!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:35pm

This game was slightly laggy, but not too bad. It has a good concept and was fun to play! Good luck :)

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Nice game - great take on the theme! :)

Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Psssst - you are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BiOCPZZx_Fc

klianc09 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Imagining building giant bridges through space is pretty funny. The game is overall pretty easy, would have liked some more challenge.
For some strange reason, walking caused massive frame drops.
And drawing bridges at invalid locations causes no bridge to appear, but the counter goes down. I even got it into the negatives.

xhunterko says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:56am

Thank you all for playing!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]