Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Star Garden

by OnlySlightly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

==Warning: Game is now NSFW due to user generated worlds==
**Note: Internet Connection is Required**

Star Garden is a game where you can create planets and explore the planets other users have made. As more and more people play the universe grows and grows. Every world you create stays in the universe for everyone else that plays to discover.

Downloads and Links




Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

The seeming persistence of the stuff people do is a good solution to the problem of a limited audience. While I see the realism of the spaceship controls, the momentum made it difficult for me to perform "oh that looks cool I'm going to check that out" behavior, which is how I expected to interact with the world.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

Very innovative and interesting concept :)
You should improve the graphics and also polish it a bit more.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04am

I had no idea what I was doing.. I could see there is future potential though!

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08am

the difficulty to move the spaceship detracts from the whole planet thing

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11am

Good idea. One thing I added with my game was that if the player pressed a certain button, the player's ship would slow down. I think that your game could benefit from something like that so that people can focus on visiting planets.

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49am

I really like the implementation of the theme, well done!
I think it's impressive to make an online game, but I find it a bit sad that not all the drawings are visible on the outside white planet. Nonetheless, like what you've done :)

Wertle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

Nice work on a networked game in such a short time, I can appreciate how insanely difficult that is! I like how the framework of the planets and needing to physically move around and explore adds a nice layer to a shared art gallery type thing. Nice work!

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10pm

x=5000, y=3000 :)

Fun little game, I'll have to check back later to see more planets.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Why you no Mac?

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57pm

This was fantastic, by a long way the best idea I've seen in the competition so far. Really impressive, well done!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Great work. I really love the UI for your "level creator," and it was a fun thing to play around with.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59pm

A very interesting idea to have user generated worlds, just wish I could do something in them besides just seeing them.

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04am

I LOVE the concept. I'd be interested to see what you would do with a bit more time. The Create tool could be more versatile and the shapes cover the UI, so you might have depth issues!

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39am

I was a bit confused by the game. Is it an exploration game? Cool little experiment, but I think it need something more to be a full-fleshed game.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Multiplayer aspect that actually works. Kudos for not censoring content.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Interesting work :) I found a rude policeman in it :D
Some sound would be nice ;)

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Being able to create a game that supports user generated content during a Jam is impressive! I'd add some more tools to create the drawings with. I had more fun creating my drawing than exploring due to the control issues other people have mentioned.

Gaeel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Haha, I see I wasn't the only one with this kind of idea, similar down the title even 0.O

If anyone finds a big red heart floating out in space, that might be me ;)

abeing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32pm

WOW this is absolutely amazing! super creative...I loved to explore the planets XD. Mine is "Planet WTF" its on the bottom border somewhere XD

someone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Interesting idea.
Drawing tools are a bit limiting but that just adds to the challenge.

cacciatc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55am

This is the way art galleries should be in rl.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:31am

Have to say, while a little bizarre, fits with the theme and it's kind of fun to connect with other people's worlds. Even though I don't see other spaceships around, I do feel like other people are around making wacky worlds. Pretty cool idea!

Only problem I experienced was not seeing any cursor so I was stuck on the main screen for a bit. Other than that, it worked like a charm. (And I'm a fan of the Asteroids style flight physics.)

Clyde says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:57am

Steering the ship was a bit tough, but managable. As an avid Kerbaler I wished there was some gravity towards worlds, but I like the idea of a totally player generated universe.

arhpositive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Nice and simple idea. Well executed. Some polish, both in the graphics & sound department and edit tool options, would make it much better, but given the timeframe this is a very good entry. :)

vinull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:05am

1557, 9268 for the party!

Really cool idea on the theme. Ship movement was a bit touchy to control, and a little small, but a very cool concept and use of the theme.

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I'm very impressed with the gameplay, well done.

ReddogStone says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:09pm

The idea is a very interresting and innovative. However, as it stands there is not so much fun in exploring. Somehow I'm missing more game mechanics in this game.

pjchardt says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Interesting concept. I did find the controls of the ship floaty as others have mentioned, however I felt like that was part of the charm of the experience. What struck me as I was visiting other planets is how much I would love to be able to leave messages for others, either in a given language or through created images.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]