Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Little Rainbow Story

by Nelly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a little story. The story is about a small rainbow. Rainbow, which disappeared.

There a 7 worlds(7 colors). You must collect all keys of current color to open next world. If you open all worlds, in your world(8th) will appear a rainbow.

Controls:
Space, WASD(Arrows)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#125Innovation3.82
#367Theme3.50
#540Humor2.35
#585Fun3.00
#619Mood2.90
#738Overall3.03
#843Audio2.13
#946Graphics2.47

Comments

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:29am

It was an excellent idea to use the sliding-block mechanic and I like the game - it's good. However, the controls were a bit trigger happy. Fix the controls and you'll have a *great* game on your hands.

Pcholt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33am

OH! I get it!
A little awkward with the controls, no animation and no sound I can hear, but excellent game play mechanic!

jawm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01pm

improvements to controls would be good. fun game, good concept :)

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Yeah, touchy spacebar controls, but otherwise interesting mechanic!

jab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14pm

I liked the idea, but spacebar kept flipping out. Took me a second or too to understand the mechanic. Nice work!

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Good concept and mechanics :) looks promising

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47pm

It's an intresting concept but damn, you need to change to that it changes between modes and slides every time you press a button. Shouldn't be too hard to fix.

ColdBrain says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Such a great idea!

BTW, I've recorded a bit of your game playing in the OLD games showcase:
http://instagram.com/p/sFGOQGPw8p/?modal=true

Capitals says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Really awkward with the controls, However it did have a lot of interesting game mechanics that I could see!

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Really good idea. Need a post-compo with better controls..
(and in my mind, the controls are reverse in the puzzle part. I want to move the walls, not the empty tile. But maybe it's subjective...)

leafarz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48am

awesome idea you have here!
the only thing that needs improvement is the keys. i have to press spacebar fast just to input it once vs holding it.

just improve the handling and the graphics and this game will be great! (but it's great as it is now!)
good job!

Dimir says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:50am

Color, many colors! This is a positive game! Great! :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Hi there. Really nice take on sliding block puzzle. The space bar particularly needs debouncing (no valid input for 0.1/0.2sec after previous valid input) as it just flashes maxi/mini-views sometimes... Got as far as 4th door so far. Bookmarked for a late evening solving the whole thing. Shame no sound. Good job!

RFMTeam says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Very good concept, and quite fun!
the controls need polish, but this is a ludum aftera all

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]