About | Rules and Guide
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 6 hours, 45 minutes, 25 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 6 hours, 57 minutes, 25 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 7 hours, 45 minutes, 25 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Rude Bear RPG - Alex Rose - Jam Entry

    NOTICE: IN THE CRYPT, YOU CAN GO UP THE STAIRS ROUND THE SIDE. YES, THOSE ARE STAIRS. IT'S A BAD DRAWING. APOLOGIES IF YOU GOT STUCK AT THE FIRST GHOST.

    Rude Bear RPG is the origin story of the Rude Bear franchise, and the seventh game in the series.

    The prequel to the smash fail Rude Bear Rising, and Preprequel to the original Rude Bear.

    It uses a realtime battle system and links the worlds of Earthbound, Pokemon Red/Blue, Pokemon Gold/Silver, Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask, Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy, Super Mario RPG as well as connecting different worlds (volcano, desert, forest, tower, grave).

    For anyone familiar with the Rude Bear saga, it also lays the foundation of connecting Rude Bear Resurrection to Rude Bear Rising, as well as bringing back the puppet style of the original Rude Bear.

    It controls entirely with the mouse. e.g. click Defend just as you're about to get hit by a powerful attack to potentially take 0 damage if you time it right.

    I also ran the optional theme "Marilyn Manson" with a few others.

    SPELL LIST:

    Rude Bear:

    Bullet Time (2 $C): Slows down the game time so defense is easier.

    Galvanise (4 $C): Gives 4$C to the chosen ally.

    White Lightning (6 $C): Strong magic attack, targets 1 enemy.

    Rain Dance (8 $C): Magic attack, targets all enemies.

    Martyvate (10 $C): Sacrifices Rude Bear to fully swag out Rad Boar and Robed Bird.


    Rad Boar:

    Seismic Chop (2 $C): Strong physical attack.

    Attention Hog (4 $C): Sticks a Kick Me sign to one ally. This ally will then take all enemy attacks. Using it twice on the same character removes it.

    Boarrier (6 $C): Grants a shield to one ally, which doubles their defense until it wears off.

    Hamdemic (8 $C): Sends out Swine Flu and damages all enemies with magic.

    Sepporku (10 $C): Sacrifices Rad Boar to give super shields to both allies. These shields last significantly longer.


    Robed Bird:

    Dark Chant (2 $C): Heals all allies.

    Storm Patrol (4 $C): Harms all enemies with a magic attack.

    Phoenix Up (6 $C): Revives one ally and/or heals all their HP.

    Scythe Bill (8 $C): A barrage of 8 consecutive physical attacks, does a lot of damage.

    Bleeding Heart (10 $C): Sacrifices Robed Bird to max revive both other party members. DOES NOT WORK PROPERLY IN THIS BUILD, MAXES THEIR HEALTH BUT DOES NOT REVIVE.

    View Alex Rose's journal. | View all entries by Alex Rose

    Ratings

    #6Humor(Jam)4.35
    #126Overall(Jam)3.63
    #127Fun(Jam)3.54
    #183Mood(Jam)3.48
    #196Audio(Jam)3.45
    #303Innovation(Jam)3.17
    #326Graphics(Jam)3.52
    #578Theme(Jam)2.63
    #1872Coolness26%

    Comments

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53am

    What the heck is going on here?

    leafarz says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:58am

    kept loling the whole time playing this! :))
    dunno what you did before making this game but you took uniqueness to an entire level. although i enjoyed how you move the characters in the game with the stick :))
    good job!

    Sheepolution says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:29pm

    One of the best joke games I've played in a long time. Though I would have liked if it was less annoying to play. Clicking on enemies, and understanding what all abilities do, was hard.

    Artamus says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:58pm

    Very funny game, congrats!

    Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:43pm

    This is the best game I have played this jam.

    By far.

    Thank you. This is basically "crossed the line twice" humor at its finest. Great gameplay, too... I couldn't beat the goddamn final boss because it kept on one-shotting the whole party, no matter what kind of strategy I tried, but damn... this was fun, and very well-balanced.

    Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:09am

    That is actually a really nice entry dude! Most likley the best game on the category "humor". The art style was also very nice and unique. Well done!

    KigurumiDevs says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:48am

    what the hell :D. what a super cool game! love the pokémon and manson theme stuff. ;) great, my type of game!
    would be cool when the graphics were better. but the main character designs are good. Gave you a lot of 5 stars.

    Ditto says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:19pm

    This is fucking awesome! The old Final Fantasy/Pokemon fighting style with a weird twist!
    Defending is pointless after the first fight, I knew what half of the spells actually did, I had no idea who the enemies was targeting and the "ultimate" spells bugged out when I tried them. AND YET I LOVED THIS GAME, maybe because of all that bullshit, this game feels like a loveletter and hatemail combined to all those old RPG games, it's so phenomenal! Love it! <3

    varun says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:15pm

    Enjoyed the paper-puppet art-style!

    AlexDJones says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:31pm

    The battle mechanics are confusing, but the weird drawings-on-sticks thing you have going on is probably the most interesting thing I've seen in LD30 graphics wise. So I guess good overall??? I definitely liked it.

    TijmenTio says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:19am

    I really don't know what I should write, because it's just so much. I mean, it all started with entering my name and it typed Rude Bear on its own and I couldn't stop laughing. I guess I want to point out a whole bunch of things that made me cry and laugh but you should just play the game to understand it. Yes it's that kind of thing: you have to experience it for yourself -.- And it's fking HARD on a trackpad so I haven't beaten the game YET. I love rude bear, don't be afraid Alex, its integrity is still very much present hehe. Cheers!

    blay09 says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:16am

    Ru-do Bea! I was a little worried that I'd get stuck right at the title screen because I loved the intro music too much.

    The fights were kinda hectic, but I managed to pull through in the end and beat the game, even though the wizard was a noodle compared to those scorpions and lava slimes.

    The fact that you made this at Insomnia on a tiny laptop is pretty amazing.

    You suck at drawing stairs tho.

    mrexcessive says ...
    Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:45pm

    Hi there. Sounds amazing (and loud!). Like the name entry ;) The puppet on a stick look is very unusual. Quite hard to move around at first, but very original design.

    gladers says ...
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:42pm

    This was great!

    Frankus says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:52pm

    I was laughing the entire time that I was playing. Loved the references and the jokes. Great work!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]