Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Luna

by Eddy93 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ATTENTION! Read controls (down here) before playing
Tip for the game: BE PATIENT

--------------------------------------------------
What's Up My Fellow Ludum Dare Friends!

Hereby I''ll present you "Luna" my fourth Ludum Dare game.
It's a unique stealth game where your goal is to save your girl and bring her to the bright side of the world. No guns, no amazing powers, no potato salad:

Just you and your ladder.

I hope you guys like it.
Thanks for Playing and Good luck!


Eddy

-----------------------------------

Controls:
Arrow Keys to move around
Z (hold) to grab the Ladder and move it around
X (hold) to grab the Ladder

!!!!
while holding X and standing above the Ladder: Press up ( a couple of times) to lift it up.
Same with bringing it down.
get it?
!!!!

if you finish the game you can replay by pressing R

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#247Graphics3.63
#329Humor2.74
#363Overall3.40
#373Audio3.02
#404Innovation3.36
#404Mood3.17
#451Fun3.16
#1056Theme2.33

Comments

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:16am

Wow dude this is really hard! I keep getting fucked up by the popo.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:50pm

OK, I rage quit it after 5 mins xD Still, it's a new concept and I really love the visual style. This could be a great game, if only I was more patient...

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Nice art and sound, but it's a bit difficult. <_<

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:10pm

a little hard x3

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Insanely hard indeed :)

Literal Games says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Woah, tough... might be more fun if was easier to begin with at least. But a nice little game otherwise, well done!

jpcote says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Insanely hard ;) but fun ! great entry ! I love the art style !

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

Awesome innovation! Very unique, took a while but it was fun!

Mapboy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:38am

This is quite the hard game, but I liked how it looked!

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:57pm

My fave so far YOU WILL MAKE MORE LEVELS AND YOU WILL DO IT NOW...MESSAGE ME WHEN MORE LEVELS ARE DONE...IM HOOKED!!! Everyone says my game is too hard too HARD = FUN nice work Check out my game it may be harder than yours

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Really innovative idea, I like it. The graphics look great and the music fits really well. You have to be really patient for this game, but eventually I made it.

I think, much more puzzles could have been created with this concept. You did not use the concept to it's fullest.

And I don't get why you need two buttons for grabbing the ladder, as both functions could be with one grab ladder button and everything would still work.

OinkIguana says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Pretty difficult at first, easier once you get used to it. Would be nice with more levels. Pretty good overall though.

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:33pm

I like everything about this. Just wish there were a couple more stages. Finished it it about 2 minutes or so. Still a very well made game.

pighead10 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Great game. Really difficult, though.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Found it not so hard at last, too bad there is no more levels.
Good concept, I would like to see more.

bobombe says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Kawaiiiii^^

Posva says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Quite hard. Graphics are nice and concept feels nice

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Perfect example how animations can turn a rather simple game into something that looks it's had quite a bit of time into it. Great job.

slowfrog says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:46pm

The moveable ladder is a good concept. The key combinations to make it work are probably over-complicated, but that's something that can be fixed.
Solid concept that could give some fun puzzles.
I don't see much relation with the theme though.

Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Lol, this is quite hard until you realise you can sit on a ladder and they wont kill you :D I did really enjoy it though, good on you!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:59am

Yay, I win! It's a bit short, but the concept is solid. Graphics are great too, especially the animations.

PeerPlay says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Great game. As everyone said before, It's damn hard. Better make a few less challenging puzzles at start. I didn't understand why there was a different key binding for moving around, that was abit confusing to me. The graphics are awesome, and yes the game-mechanics are somewhat innovative.
Very nice entry!

Eddy93 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Thanks everyone for the compliment and great feedback.
I will consider to make more levels, adjust the difficulty, get rid of one key and polish/debug the game. When I do so you'll find the game on this page =D

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Very hard but really cool. Who knew a ladder could create such an interesting mechanic. Graphics and music are nice too. Good job!

shatterhand says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:54pm

The graphics are sweet and the sound is really top-notch.
But is the game really supposed to last like 1 minute? I didn't find the game hard at all, I died like once when I still hadn't understood how the ladder works, and the once more trying to go up to rescue the girl.

And I was really surprised to see the game end after so abruptly and quickly.

Also didn't understand how it fits the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]