Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

GalEx - We Connect Worlds!

by markusfisch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Connecting worlds by delivering mail.

Your mission is to fly near worlds to deliver mail. You may use either the keyboard or the mouse (or touch on mobile devices) to control the ship. Mail's dropped automatically if you're near enough.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#83Fun3.78
#169Theme3.77
#175Overall3.63
#194Graphics3.75
#404Innovation3.36
#420Mood3.15
#551Humor2.33
#889Audio1.94

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I like the graphics - blacks stars on white looks really cool.

Game was fun to play

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Really fun and challenging!

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04pm

loved the idea of droping objects by the orbit of the worlds. nice graphics.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Plays a little slow, but mechanics are nice

jpmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Great fun. Controls felt well calibrated. Difficulty was good - leading the player through the different game aspects was done well.

Could have done with some music but apart from that all jolly good.

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Nice game, congrats!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Great game, very addicting ^^

Moocowsgomoo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Good aesthetic, and it was neat how the planets were both a goal and a hazard due to gravity. Nice job!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Wow that was sure fun! Loved the art!

horrorpen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:16pm

This was surprisingly fun! Going to play it again :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Lovely looking and surprisingly tricky! Wish there had been some sounds and music.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Fun game :D The graphics are clean yet effective, just the right difficulty too :D

bazld says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Great fun! Level progression is done really well too. Very original art style, perfect.

radmars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Really great aesthetic. The tension created here was amazing and when you pull off a crazy man maneuver and skim by a planet by the skin of your teeth you feel like some sort of bad ass ace pilot. Really nice. The controls did feel as though they could use a bit of tuning but for a jam game this felt surprisingly whole. The fact that it had UI guide markers as well is a really nice touch. I think with a little music / sound effects and a few more days in the oven and this could be a complete game that I would buy. Nicely done!

Aomeas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:08pm

I finally beat it >.<
That was fun, physics is not my friend :(

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Only one word: Awesome... okay just a few words more: nice gfx setting, nice and responsive gameplay... challenging level (The one with the circle of planets around a black hole)... faved it..

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Nice interpretation of the theme! Simple and fun gameplay. I also dig the clean simple graphics. Would have been nice to have some music!

I gave up on the last level after a dozen tries, wrote this comment, went back... and beat it on first try :)

reheated says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Fun, good physics, I like the art style. (Game could be a bit longer!)

blurryroots says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Challenging and fun. Cool background, looks like a strategic space map. I like the clean and minimalistic look in general. Some sound effects would have been nice though.

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Awesome gameplay, really liked it! Graphs are kind of minimalistic but I like that too!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Nice game! Neat mechanics and quite a progressively challenging difficulty curve. Great work!

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Nice game ! i love black holes !!! Now all worlds is connected with xboxes i delivered !

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Indeed, a very similar story-idea. :)
Cool graphics!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:35am

Really liked the controls of this, with the gravitational pull. Really solid game. Great job.

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:56am

nice controls, interesting concept, well done

Larzan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Great game, good mechanics, good gfx, fun to play!

Oxeren says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:55am

Nice game, fun and challenging

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:22am

Quite a fun game. Reminds me of another game where you deliver mail to planets as well! Great addition to the bunch and neat visual style.

MRvanderPants says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Love the artstyle! Really nice and clean. I did miss some audio.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]