Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gravitas

by elemel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gravitas is an interplanetary cave flyer. Can you wake the dead planets?

Run the game with LOVE: http://love2d.org/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#380Graphics3.38
#387Innovation3.38
#596Mood2.94
#684Overall3.08
#788Fun2.79
#870Theme2.74
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33am

For those that missed the download instructions, you have to rename the .zip to .love, then download Love here:
https://love2d.org/
Then drag one onto the other.

Graphics aren't too bad but it isn't immediately obvious what's going on.
No sound.
Gameplay very challenging, I can see some people playing to achieve mastery but only once there's more going on in the game.
Not really getting the "connected worlds" vibe from it.

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46am

too hard lol

elemel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35am

wolfmother: Thanks for clarifying the download instructions, and thanks for the review! I agree that the game needs more love, it doesn't feel finished at all. Regarding the theme, the game is about gravity, the force that connects worlds.

elemel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35am

honestcritic: Thanks for playing. :-)

FineSpun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Kinda difficult. But I think it's part of the game. Good Job though :)

phi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29pm

This game is impossible for any animal species that I know of. What kind of alien are you? :O

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I don't understand what to do or how to control the player.

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Good looking game with a good idea but it seems very hard right now, might need some further explanation of the controls.

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34pm

The game is too hard for me

elemel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Controls: Left/right arrow key to turn. Up arrow key for thrust. Thrust power depends on the zoom level, so be conservative or you'll get lost in space.

Hint: Planets spin in order to nullify gravity. Match their spin to get a nice orbit.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:28pm

The concept for the gameplay is really cool, but I found it impossibly difficult. Unless the goal is to catapult yourself a trillion miles out of the star system, which I managed one time.

elemel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Cake_Catastrophe: Easy does it. But thanks for giving it a shot!

elemel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16pm

phi: I'm Swedish.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:52am

At first I found it incredibly difficult, then I read your post about trying to get into orbit and then it because a little bit easier and much more fun. The idea is unique and cool and it is executed fairly well. Visually it is also quite nice, even with its fairly simple graphics. Well done!

elemel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Windmill Games: Thanks a lot! I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:11pm

I like this concept a lot although it will need slight tweeking. Still I enjoyed this challenge even though I did not get very far. I will probably try this one again tomorrow :) Must get it eventually.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:24pm

I love the concept and i enjoyed playing this. The controls are very hard, but steering that little live carrying ship has something satisfying. I wish it had some sound effects though!

elemel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:27am

DvanderArt: Yeah, it still needs tweaking. The thrust should ease in/out, it's completely binary now. The camera should probably auto-rotate a bit slower as well. Basically, everything should feel smoother. Glad that you enjoyed playing it, though!

elemel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:28am

Sorry, that should have been DvanderAart, not DvanderArt.

elemel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:39am

blurryroots: Thanks for your kind words! I was a bit sloppy and omitted sounds. I guess the vacuum doesn't transmit them... I think I'll continue improving the game after voting has ended.

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Very interesting concept. It was really hard to control and the camera was annoying sometimes, but I really liked the sense of scale. If it would damage instead of kill you upon touching walls it would've been doable for me to finish the big planet.

elemel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:26pm

FrozenCow: Thanks for playing and commenting! I agree on the controls and camera, they need to be smoother. The camera rotates so that gravity points down, but it might feel less twitchy if e.g. the rotation speed was capped. And the thrust and turn controls should probably be eased in/out. Fatal collisions were mostly for ease of implementations, this could be revisited.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:38am

Agree controls are really hard. I tried this a second time after reading the comments and managed to orbit a planet twice and almost got to its center, that part of the gameplay is what you should try to make easier to get to as it was genuinely fun - getting there was hard though as I kept overshooting the planets :) Good job!

Gaeel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:38am

May I suggest having some kind of non-scaled indicator of the player's orientation. I managed to transfer my orbit to a different planet, but only once, and through sheer luck.
My character (who when zoomed in could be pointing in any three directions, since it's a triangle), only appears as a single dot most of the time, so to determine my direction, I need to thrust, and that sends me right off course...

elemel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:52pm

vividhelix: Thanks for playing, and thanks for the feedback. Hopefully the interplanetary navigation and the cave flying can both be fun if I manage to streamline them a bit.

Gaeel: There's supposed to be a thin line extending from the front of the ship. Maybe I need to make that more visible.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Beautiful and brutal. "Can you wake the dead planets?" I cannot.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]