Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

MultiWorlds

by Joemag - 48 Hour Compo Entry

MultiWorlds is a challenging platform game.
The special is that you are playing in multiple worlds at once.

To play it on linux, you have to install the *awesome* LOVE framework: http://love2d.org/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Theme3.91
#107Fun3.69
#127Overall3.72
#358Mood3.23
#367Audio3.03
#545Graphics3.12
#588Innovation3.12
#807Humor1.96
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48am

So nice and clean looking. The controls are very smooth.

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40am

I won! :D Great game, pleasanly hard. It would have been nice to know which caracter died especially on the 4-world levels, instead of just instantly reseting, but great job anyway!

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47am

Chrome says malicious, will not be downloading.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47am

Cool smoth controlls and pretty hard.

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49am

Won in 5.7 minutes. Died 55 times. Nice game! Simply and complete. Nice music as well. I found the four-way levels far too much though, would have liked to have seen some other interesting mechanics in play.

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:13am

won in 5.8 mins died 108 times, good fun.

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Nice, clean design. Love the music

kikito says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

I liked it. You used the tools at your disposal very well.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13am

So far this is my favorite compo game, very well done! You really made the levels feel fun and rewarding. The movement and controls are good, the graphics (while minimal) are alright. Overall a very solid and good game!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:13am

Very nice game, with an interesting concept of "co-op solo", and a minimalist design. Good job !

meeech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:14am

a great visual feel, clever idea.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:40am

I expected to see games like this, but yours shines on the controls and graphical execution, which remind me of geometric Colorforms from my childhood. Thank you for tuning the button sound to the music. I beat it in 4.9 minutes with 61 deaths, but you must be better than me at it because the music ended before I could win. :)

Resonious says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:42am

Simple, yet clean. Not too bad, sir.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54am

Smooth execution. 3.4 minutes, died 43 times. Those quad levels were fun :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54am

Simple and effective, very nice, just it reached a point that the music stopped.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:22am

real fun game! Simple concept executed well. Feels very polished for 48 hours, good job.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:14am

Great game, there were some really cool platforming ideas in there.

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21am

fantastic presentation! the idea is simple, and very well-executed. I wish the music looped :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:38am

great game! it didn't start to lag till 4 boxes. Fun but challenging.

Skywilly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:02am

Very cool game, no very innovative but with great graphics & cool idea of level design. Love it :)

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:19am

Awesome level design, surprisingly lengthy, and I love the fact that you restart immediately when you die.

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:22am

It's complicated to measure distances with those simple shapes and colours, but it's part of the fun!

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:00am

At first I was like, oh this looks easy! And then 10 seconds later I almost threw my keyboard at the wall. Well done, it was frustrating, but fun.

dix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:39am

Very nice graphics, and it looks easy but it gives you quite a hard time :D Well done!

Killswitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:31am

First LD game that activated my game-rage. Nice job! :D

Killswitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:32am

6.9 minutes and 60+ deaths, BTW.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:37am

nice, well done

Peni6 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:47am

Very nicely completed game, well thought out and nicely designed levels. A couple of rage-inducing parts!

Could have done with a little more audio, maybe a backing track. More levels would have been great too!

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Good game and levels, my game and yours share the same idea ! My arrow keys are kinda dead on my keyboard so I coudl'nt pass level 5 or 6 :(

donfabio says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Very nice and minimalistic. Great idea for the tutorial and statistics at the end.

Goutye says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice game ! I like the multiworlds and the challenge o/

kidanger says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Very nice entry! Love the graphics.

Aomeas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Too bad the music doesn't loop :|
Otherwise, the game is great :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Very fun, looks good, good music, and uses the them well. Plus the controls were finely tuned. Good job!

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Great game. Smooth controls, simple to play, well executed. I beat it in 5.8 minutes with 52 deaths.

thedogofdoom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Really fun, and an interesting take on connected worlds, but I encountered a game breaking bug on level 3 and the music didn't loop.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice simple idea, nice overall mood (music & visual quite fitting). The floor seems to be "sliding" sometimes it's really weird, I don't know if it's a scrolling illusion or something.

fizzd says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Really smooth on mac native, at first i thought this would be yet another control-two-things-at-once game but the moving of worlds made it different. 3.3 minutes for me, was a fun small game.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Great job on it.

polyboxgames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Okay, this was awesome. Died a bunch of times though... 100+ in 11 minutes. The world switching was really neat!

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:20am

nice, clean game with a good challenge

Joemag says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

I don't know why the music isn't looping for some of you, because I had implemented it. Have you played the web port? The web port could have some problems.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Hi there. Really nice smooth movement. My platforming skills not up to playing it though... Got to start section of level 2, just... Nice sounds and did I say really nice smooth movement! Good job!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:09am

Very smooth looking, well done. I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/1LqxxVg5Vuk

simplesmiler says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Best take on this idea I've seen so far.

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:57pm

That was fun.

rd127p77 says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:56am

The game is great overall, everything feels polished, ie. the controls and graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]