Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Above & Below

by Ariake81 - Jam Entry

Help the Chibi baton to return harmony to the worlds of above&below and repel the encroaching darkness.

Above&below is a single screen, music puzzle platform game best played by 2 players using the same pad, but is equally as fun (& more challenging) for a lone player.

CONTROLS

Character 1
Pad: Left Analog Stick (left and right)
Left Bumper button (jump)

Keys: A-D (left and right)
W (jump)

Character 2
Pad: Right Analog Stick (left and right)
Right Bumper Button (jump)

Keys: J-L (left and right)
I (jump)

Q to quit ingame


Once again restricted in time by life and its many tedious responsibilities our 2 man (and an understanding wife) team managed to put the game together in under 48hrs. We used Construct 2, Photoshop, Audacity and Caustic + cheap Kebab meat, pork scratchings and Leffe to create the game.

Sorry for any bugs in collision detection, we will get round to them but our times up for now! If this happens the game should restart but if not press Q to quit.

Big love to Katamari, Taiko drum master & loco Rocco for the inspiration.

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Audio(Jam)3.75
#102Innovation(Jam)3.63
#194Graphics(Jam)3.85
#227Theme(Jam)3.50
#231Humor(Jam)2.80
#295Mood(Jam)3.25
#394Overall(Jam)3.21
#492Fun(Jam)2.84
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31pm

I didn't have anyone to play with, but the concept is very interesting - good visuals and execution!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56pm

had a rough time by myself, but still a great idea and fun nonetheless. controls were a bit wonky for my taste (again, probably would have been fine with two people).

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Neat game! Loved the flute~

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:15am

Cool concept, awesome art and great music. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to experience it all due to the difficulty of the game.

jawm says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

interesting concept. quite difficult if playing alone

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:51pm

This was really nice, a little tricky on my own but still doable.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:05am

This was a clever idea! I managed to beat it as a single player, but I did screenshot the progress halfway through so that the next time I continued I was able to do it faster by looking where the bars should go. :P

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Hi there. Love the visuals and sounds. Nice two player toy apart from the game aspects. Nice colour palette. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]