Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Wizard Of Clix

by dhargan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Wizard of Clix is an incremental game. Your job is clicking the sphere in front of the wizard and gain magical power. With enough magical power resource, you can open portals to another worlds, make apprentices to come work for you and start to gain influence powers. You are going to use influence powers for training apprentices and make their special abilities more powerful!

- 4 Planets to connect through portals!
- 10 Apprentices with extremely original names!
- No ending. You can play as long as you want!

Special Notes:
- My very first ludumdare compo entry as well as my first serious game developement project.

- No animation, no sound, default Unity GUI, kinda sloppy mechanics... I couldn't make it on time, sorry for that :(. But they will be included as soon as possible! (after the compo, ofc).

Enjoy!



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#386Humor2.62
#877Theme2.73
#940Graphics2.48
#998Audio1.41
#1063Mood2.18
#1092Fun2.27
#1128Overall2.46
#1136Innovation2.13

Comments

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10am

Clever idea how you can upgrade your clicks. At first I thought the entire mechanic was clicking, but there's definitely a lot more to this game. Great job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

Nice clicker :P I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/aac43JwG3FQ

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10pm

click click click

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

click, click, click. Too grindy :P

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Cool idea! But too silent for me :D

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Nice depth to the game. Although it was a little annoying getting to that first 100 or 500 clicks. After that the ramp up was nice, not too overpowering.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

I feel like it would have been 1000x funner if the clicking mechanic was replaced by something more substantial like a mini-game puzzle thingie. Although, that would have taken more time than you had available to you. Gain experience, keep working hard and next Ludum Dare you'll have enough time.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Why I need to click 100 several times to start play!?
And then I need to wait some thing happen every minute (a minute is a looooong time to wait), and it doesn't have nothing more happening... the idea look nice, but this isn't on game.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:05pm

catched me the same like the cookie clicker :)

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice first entry ! We want more :D

Nanocentury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Had to spend half an hour telling my brother to stop clicking...
Only people who want infinite cosmic power should play.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

can you make a linux build, please?

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Intresting variant on the clicked style of games, but the clicks dosn't feel as satisfyingly as cookie clicker as the only difference is that the counter goes up.
Also it would be nice if the game would still run even when not the page is open.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:13pm

This game made my finger hurt! LOL. You obviously put a lot of thought and creativity into this game. Like you said above,music and animations would give it a more polished feel. I could see this being a FB game! Good luck!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

I'm sorry but you have to stop making click games. It's just sad how bad it is, that's nor elegant, nor interesting, nor even funny to play those. You didn't make a bad click game, apprentice are ok but still. Cookie clicker is enough for a whole century.

Pesty says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I do love clicking games, and this is definately addicting for the sake of completion.

There are a couple of issues though:
1) The game doesn't play when out of focus, typically with games like this you get going with the clicks and then leave the browser open for an extended period of time to build up resources.

2) The balance is a bit off - It's clear each upgrade after the first is just previous*=1.1 - with this in effect its always most cost efficient to upgrade the first portal, only requiring the extra ones to unlock the apprentices. This takes away from the sense of progression unfortunately.

Besides them two points, good game

H1S2 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Fun game. Unfortunatly it is not endless. After some time it is impossible to read the cost of your apprentices because the long float values fall in to the next line. And when you play really long you have "infinty" IP and then "NaN". With infinity you can max all you want and after that you can do nothing.

But the game made a lot of fun and we played it till the end ;)
good job.

dhargan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:07pm

@H1S2 wow. even I didn't play it till the score become NaN :D thank you very much mate. I've been expecting this to happen tho and of course I will fix it after the compo.

@Pesty I'm aware that the ratios are a bit sloppy and unbalanced. hopefully it will be better in the after compo version. thanks for your comment!

@AnnaGavaldaKedavra maybe you should try a bit gentle while you comment peoples games. It's a game genre that you are talking about and thousands of people enjoy to play that genre and believe me cookie clicker is not the only incremental game you can find.

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:53pm

A good addictive game, my mouse hand hates you for it XD

deepnight says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I didn't rate your game, really sorry. I rage-quit when I discovered I had to click 100 times right before I could actually play ANYTHING.

teamawesome says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Well done. Too addictive! I played to order 1 x 10^9 and at that point most of the apprentice descriptions were unreadable. More apprentices! More planets! Add sound!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:31pm

My fingers hurt from all the clicking. There's too much grind for a LD game though, making people wait 3 minutes or 5 minutes to be able to upgrade is just too much. If you change those numbers to 1/10th of what they are right now you might get more people to play through the game and get more valuable feedback!

I liked the idea though, very cookie-clicker-y!

grillaface says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:33pm

I stopped at 88 clicks.

brookman says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:13pm

The game entertained me for a few minutes. Because of my severe cookie-clicker addiction, I keep an "auto clicker" tool on my desktop. It kills the addiction quickly. :)
Funny idea with the wizards. It should be balanced a little and you should lower the time for influence gain.

Tosic says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:19pm

The game is amazing, innovative, the humor: Parry Hotter, I LOL'D!!! :D
But influence gain takes too much time, that doesnt matter that much though because the game is so awesome, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]