Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ComboTwin

by c023-dev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A TALE ABOUT AN ABSTRACT SIAMESE TWIN
by James Mearman from the www.Dev-Zoo.net

I streamed the whole development live via twitch and hope to make a timelapse soon.

My goal was to make a fairly solid and complete one button game with a twist. After struggling with the theme I came up with the idea to make two characters in one and do that as simple as I can. This is my first LD and my first randomly generated game. ENJOY!



ToDo:

I haven't tested it on mobile browsers yet but I hope to make it work for the voting.

I need to increase difficulty over time and add some variation to the obstacles as well as full content color changes when flipping the twin.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#176Audio3.41
#219Humor2.96
#231Graphics3.66
#464Mood3.10
#575Innovation3.13
#684Overall3.08
#788Fun2.79
#958Theme2.58

Comments

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:18am

Really good looking and well animated. The gameplay is interesting but, as you wrote, it would be better with more challenge and variety.

MidgeS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

As you already mentioned it needs some challenge.
I like the graphics though i felt the twins where a bit too lowres. The music should be looping, was so quiet after playing a while ;)

With more challenge i could waste quite some time with highscore hunting :D

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Funny and fun idea, gets boring rather quickly though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14pm

This game has all the effects: chunky sound, plunky music, parallax background, and screen shake. I found this to be a solid one-button game, and would like to see more levels.

joseadrian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Tested it on mobile. It worked and the perfomance is good! I liked it

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19am

Interesting twist on the infinite runner genre. The look and feel of the game was great, the music, the sounds and the pixel art worked very well together.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40am

Idea very intriguing but game very laggy itself. Strange things with action button. It doesn't work sometimes.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

a realy nice design and a realy nice player system the only thing that it misses is some difficulty at the end of the game.

prophile says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03am

Fun, liked the animation. Too easy and needs more content.

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18am

Really liked your graphics and the music was cool too (although it ran out after a while). The animations were pretty slick, definitely a great start for a cool idea, it felt like the beginnings of a Parkour-type thing!

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Beautiful art and sound and an interesting gameplay mechanic as well. It might be helpful to show how the mechanic works before having the player take over. Keep in mind I didn't get any sleep last night so maybe that's just me.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:55pm

"I need to increase difficulty over time and add some variation to the obstacles" Yep, pretty much!
It surely is a solid start, and the visual style is very appealing, the music works very well and it's kind of cool how the game transitions in and out of the "menu screen" fluently. It is, however, fun for only about a minute.. :)

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Nice to see another first timer in Ludum Dare! Your game twin character is somehow cute/funny and had a good time running with him/her :)

Aru Nyan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Somewhat addictive and well polished (it'd better be when it's so simple ;). It would be even better if the challenge ramped up somehow, to at least have the speed increase. But it's a nice one :)

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Simple and good idea. However I don't know if it gets difficult after a while. If it does, it's so slow so I got bored and quit playing after 120ish score. It's quite repetitive.

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:12am

Nice graphics, unobtrusive sound, cool mechanic... I like it... :D Good luck with the further development...

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I like the animation and the concept! Nice, strange mood. +1 for using Phaser!

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

Good idea but would be better with more challenge. It would have been also a good idea to have more possible move for both twins. I know that's on the todo section but that was my impressions before reading this one ;)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:37am

Nice graphics and audio but didn't get if I should select the twin according to the obstacle

dunin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:32am

Good animation and music (but why it doesn't loop??).
I like the long format.
(And yes, no challenge...)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Needs to pick up the pace as time goes on. And the theme connection is so-so..

Other than those things, it's a small game that knows what its core idea is and thus executes it quite well.

The sounds are low key and I like that, and the music is quite good (reminds me of Hotline Miami). Too bad it doesn't loop. Maybe that's an oversight?

The graphics are nice too, not much to complain about there. Maybe they could change hue as the difficulty increases?

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:15am

Hi there. Unusual take on the endless runner. Love the look and feel. Sounds appropriate. Number of times I've dies handstanding into shallow jumps... Good job!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:32am

Heh... heh... "Click to play" in the screenshot is a little misleading. XD

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:37am

This was honestly one of my favorite entries so far though... it looks like after about 30 or so the music quits out (is it not on loop?) -- shortly after the music dropped off I lost interest -- probably would have pretty soon anyway since the game is so repetitive and such... but I mean no, that's a pretty great start to a fun game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]