Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dots

by vinull - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Puzzle game of "connect the dots". There are 12 levels in this version.

Made with Unity, FL Studio (music), Tiled Map Editor (levels), UTiled (TMX Importer for Unity - Open Source and I am the author) and Paint.net (graphics).

NOTE: Mac and Linux were built on Windows, using Unity's export feature and not tested (I don't have systems to test with). It's probably fine though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#156Fun3.59
#223Audio3.31
#288Overall3.48
#349Humor2.68
#446Innovation3.30
#534Mood3.00
#637Theme3.15
#986Graphics2.38
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

peejaygee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Enjoyable little game. Once I realized the "connect the dots" was literally in the description I knew what I was doing. Reminds me a little of them games you get were you have to get a block from one side to the other, but you have to move the strategically placed 'other' blocks. Keep up the good work. [KGD]

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03pm

I really liked the music! That was a really cool concept

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04pm

I was really impressed with the idea here. It made me smile when I solved the first puzzles and it was fun throughout. Also loved the music. Great work!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Nice puzzle game. Some awkward challenging puzzles in there

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05pm

I really enjoyed this game. The music and the concept are top notch.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Nice game, quite a few interesting puzzles :)

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Pretty funny!

ming_tea says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10pm

This is a pretty fun game and it made me feel smart.

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:50am

A simple concept that "connects" nicely with the theme. I liked how you introduced a new play mechanic every few levels to keep it fresh. The difficulty ramps up nicely too with some nice challenging puzzles in the later levels. I think my kids will like this one. Nicely done.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13am

Very, very fun! I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/v1uehyKcvFY

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Hi there. Great little puzzler, got through about 10 levels I think (third with the bounce/reverse material). Great implementation, good job!

Floko says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

Neat little game, hahah!! The music is weird, but it's a good weird, weirdly enjoyable... The gameplay is simple,solid and easy to grasp, but at the same time it was challenging and entertaining. Nice job!

Demorro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Pretty good game. Impressed at the level design, which while simple, is very well paced and smartly done. Also like that music loop in the background.

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:37am

Simple yet fun and entertaining for the brain cells, and the music flowed!

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:33am

Really enjoyed that! Seen a few of these designs kicking about this jam and each one has been a great laugh, but yours has the flippy mechanic which is awesome! Nice submission, the music was a great fit too!

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:41am

Challenging puzzle, simple but addicting! Well made!

donaldducky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

I like puzzle games, and I like what you did here. The music was good too. Good Job!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Well done. Simple, straight-forward rules leading to great puzzles.

pythong says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:12am

i love these kinda games. binary land ;) ? good job!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:22am

Vey entertaining puzzles, great job!

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:20am

Neat game. The puzzles were challenging. The music fit well. All in all, very nice.

raddevon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Wow, this is extremely clever. Impressive!

marvalgames says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:22pm

This is fun challenging simple but all good

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]