Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Noah's Hoover

by Nisshoku - Jam Entry

Balance delicate ecosystems by intervening with an interplanetary Hoover: Suck predators from one world to quell overpopulation on another.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#138Humor(Jam)3.19
#147Overall(Jam)3.58
#167Theme(Jam)3.61
#191Innovation(Jam)3.42
#192Graphics(Jam)3.86
#229Audio(Jam)3.39
#230Fun(Jam)3.30
#367Mood(Jam)3.11
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04am

Nice graphics and gameplay, I enjoyed it!

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Really nice game! I like the interplay between the different species and plants. Though I was not too sure on how the planet stats actually affected anything. The collision was a bit finicky but worked ok once you figure out you can push space-travelling animals pretty much anywhere if you stay close. Great artwork too :)

ramoncb says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:58am

Very solid entry!

Has a quite unique concept, looks complex at first but after you play the tutorials (and understand how to use the probes and move the animals with the hoover) the game become really fun!

The game really do a great job with the theme, plus nice music and some very cool concepts of animals! Very good job!

Sorry my bad english ^^

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42am

This is a very good game and it fits the theme perfectly.
~funkeh

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nice game!

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Interesting concept, making it so that I can't knock whatever I'm moving from planet to planet (when its on the hoovers line) would probably make it better. The audio was very fitting and the art was good too.

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Really nice little game. A bit finicky to get what you want where but otherwise very enjoyable.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:42am

very cool take on the theme, nice art and music

smizmeal says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Great concept and execution. I really appreciated the different mode/levels (tutorial, showcase, etc). Of course, the art is excellent and charming -- it adds a lot to it.

Also, I love beaming animals into space -- that never gets old!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]