Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lotus

by doos - Jam Entry

The mystical lotus is an unusual artefact. Does it come from a distant alien culture? Was it created on Earth? What secrets does it hold?

Grey buttons move the circles. Pieces fit in outlines. Unlock all 6 stages for the hardest puzzle of all.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#36Innovation(Jam)4.00
#273Overall(Jam)3.38
#402Theme(Jam)3.13
#425Fun(Jam)2.96
#434Graphics(Jam)3.26
#461Mood(Jam)2.94
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:33am

Well done! Like a Rubiks cube, a puzzle with internal rules to figure out in order to align things. Got four of the six meself (failed the left and lower right), but that's enough for ol' me.

doos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51pm

That's one more than me.. I think the other two are possible, but I didn't manage it either. Final level is a 2x2 rubiks cube.. :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:27pm

I love the idea of this puzzler

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:58pm

I can resolve the 4x4x4 Rubik's cube, but here i can't get through the second part >.< maybe because i can't imagine the moving of the pieces, and i'm just randomclicking

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Awesomely complicated, I dig it!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Cool, nice idea but I wasn't able to beat it, it was hard. I'm not sure how it fits the theme but good anyway

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:05pm

A good puzzle game. Could be clearer (not easier) and graphics could help that actually.

TideS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I loved the idea, but game needs more visualization.

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Phew, interesting concept! Really confusing though. I am really struggle to visualize what will happen.

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Hm, I was awful in normal Rubiks cube, and now I have Lotus to be awful at :D it's quite difficult to imagine how pieces will move after click.

Too bad there's no audio :(

brogrammers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Yes! I beat all the six levels! (proof: http://i.imgur.com/YkzJv3h.png)
The yellow one on the left was the most difficult.
Great game. It glued me to the monitor for a good hour.
At the start I hated the fact that there were not instructions or anything that explained what was going on pressing those gray buttons. I was about to quit after two minutes, but then I randomly solved a puzzle and the challenge just got me. And I understood the fact that I had to discover by myself what each button did.
One of the best puzzle games I've played.
Have this 5/5, you deserve it.

doos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42pm

That's amazing! I'm glad the last two are solvable.. ;)

In case anyone tries to complete it, I didn't get time to add the win condition logic to the 2x2..

plash says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:18am

Interesting puzzle. It wasn't entirely clear how the controls worked at first. I think what this needs is feedback to the player. Perhaps it's just my Linux, but I'm not getting any audio. Is there any? I think it is a crucial missing piece to this.

Nitpicks:

- The yellow outlines (and a few others) are very difficult differentiate on the white background.

doos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Yeah.. Maybe a hover over button change colour.. The yellow is hard to distinguish from the orange and the white.
I didn't have any time to do any sounds. I wasn't sure what kind of music would work with this.. Something.. Spacey? Mystical? I thought it would get tired and frustrating after a while.

OFF says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Take a look to my game : same spirit! ;)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=39617

Connected... peoples! :D

I tried and it seems maybe much harder than mine, but i really like the idea, but without more hint it required a genious insight, or lucky to understand the rules. I figure the base of rotation but not why some pieces on other circle move when you move an other circle.

If you have other idea like that i think that they could merge inside a great puzzle aventure game like Myst or Schizm.

It make me think to that, a pure mecanisme that you have to manipulate : the puzzle is not the level, but the game itself.

Nice job, and nice graphics.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I like the idea of this puzzle, but it was hard to see what was going on, perhaps you need to add animation so I can track each piece when I move it. I like the idea though.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:44pm

The intersecting rings mesmerized me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered a tutorial on the controls and an animation of the button state and colored shape motion?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]