Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Path

by TheGeekatory - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello, everybody!

This is my very first time finishing a LD48 game on time!
The controls of this game are simple, A/D or Left/Right to move and W/Up/Enter/Space to interact with things.

For fullscreen toggle, use the "J" key, and for screenshots, use the "P" key.

The goal of the game is to get through the final portal. Interacting with things in certain levels will affect other levels (connected worlds).

I hope you like it!

The game was written in C++ with SFML and libnoise. Linux build coming soon.

Latest build fixes all the crashes and allows for fullscreen mode.

Cheers,
Aster

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#727Graphics2.85
#864Mood2.63
#877Theme2.73
#950Innovation2.59
#1105Overall2.50
#1161Fun2.00
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54am

crashed when enter the third portal...

TheGeekatory says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:03pm

This is fixed now!

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Hiya, I crashed once on one of the toggles... don't remember which. I started it again and just started interacting with all the bounded squares... which generated terrain and allowed me to continue on for a little bit... but then I couldn't find anything else to toggle more terrain. I think it would benefit a lot from some in-game instructions... something I learned fast and something I suffer from a lot is: "You can have the best game ever made, but if people don't know how to play it within 30 seconds of starting it, they're gonna give up." People are impatient nowadays :P

Congrats on finishing your first game on time! May there be many more to follow. I see potential for this, I just didn't know what to do with it.

TheGeekatory says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Hi there! Thanks for the kind words!
I'll admit I slacked off a lot during this LD, and didn't polish the game as much I might have wanted to. Although development for the LD30 compo has halted, I'm still continuing development on GitHub at https://github.com/Mischa-Alff/DarkPath .

I'm glad you liked it,
Cheers

miotatsu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19am

Cool and huge thanks for the x86_64 linux build, it's a neat game but it segfaulted on me. Perhaps the build isn't the latest release? I'll have to clone and compile later :)

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24am

like the minimilastic graphics, but after the first 15 seconds it gets kinda boring. I really wish there was some sort of puzzles to do here.
Also, I crashed after trying to open one of the portals.

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Hmm, I could enter the first portal, but after that nothing was interactive. I just walked and walked until the world ended. :?

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Looks interesting and the movement is cool. Couldn't really figure out how the game bit worked, wandered around a bit but I didn't really get it. I tried interacting with the stuff but it felt like nothing was going on. No sound, graphics are minimalistic but they are good

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I love the art style but I couln't find anything to interract with after the white door. Tried to spam Enter space and up all the way to what seemed to be the end of the world and nothing happened.
Will come back for more test next week.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:35pm

I'm a bit confused...but I like the minimalistic black-n-white graphics!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:57am

I'm not sure what's going on, and I couldn't find anything I could interact with after the first white portal.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]