Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Starlight Cowboy

by pinion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Starlight Cowboy

Controls -
Left click to start flying in a direction.
Hold space to shoot (only when you have energy).

Instructions -
There are two universes, one with dead suns and one with live suns.

To warp between the 'dead' space and 'live' space, simply fly away from the starfield.

You will get mission summaries when you warp between zones.
It is at this time you will know if your mission is complete.

To find suns, look out for their particles. This will be harder for dead suns.

To drain a sun, fly over it.
To power a sun, shoot it. You will see when you powered it all the way up.

Technical -
Code - HaxeFlixel
Sprites - Paint.NET

No time for music or sound

If you get a slowdown problem when playing in the browser, try downloading the swf and running it locally if you can.

Friends -
Made at a LD gathering of:
Team Sloth Fox - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=42077
Calciumtrice - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=31814

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#540Humor2.35
#637Theme3.15
#729Innovation2.93
#746Overall3.02
#752Graphics2.80
#886Mood2.59
#904Fun2.63

Comments

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37am

Interesting, felt kind of therapeutic. When I said Uranus out load I giggled and then saw the text. Immature humor knows no bounds...

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57am

Simple, nicely done game.

pythong says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50am

concept is ok, but this game needed a lot of instruction, so I had to restart the game to read them (since this is LD, and already nearly 2000 entries, there's no way to read everything)
therefore, you should create info bubbles which blend into the game more whenever the player needs them, instead of flooding him info right at the start

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Interesting concept - going to play again to try and keep all the stars alive :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I liked how you could use the particles radiating from the sun to find them, and the planet descriptions were amusing.

pinion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:35pm

@pythong

If only there were time, there would be a tutorial, etc.

Pheonise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Neat game! Felt a little maniacal stealing energy from one world's suns to fuel the suns in the other, but in a good way.
RIP Milky Way.
See you, Space Cowboy

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I think this is exactly what Kardashev had in mind when he proposed the type III civilization.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Did i just kill our solar system?

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35am

Nice little game. I know you ran out of time for the audio, that's too bad, I know the feeling. The visuals for powering up a sun was super satisfying!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53am

Relaxing and peacefull game, music would have been great.

brodavi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08am

That was pretty fun. I am a sucker for top down spaceship games :)

igoramendola says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:17am

Interesting! I like the concept of saving a system by stealing the other one. Also, I liked the idea of using particles to indicate where to go... and the name of some planets haha xD

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:43am

Hey there. Like the ideas here, flying between the two areas was a bit frustrating. The collection and deposit mechanics were sound. Shame no sound. Good job!

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Funny gameplay! With sound would have been great. Cool vintage style. The resource transfer is a great concept. Will play again...

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25pm

I felt like a bit of a dick warping straight into our own system (at least Earth and Uranus were there!) and sucking the life out of our sun... Simple, but enjoyable.

Bonus points for the instantly recognizeable ship, despite it only being a few pixels tall ;-) http://goo.gl/tA48JB

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:56am

Nice

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Interesting concept, I couldn't really tell which universe I was in.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:34am

that's a nice little game, I liked the sort of 'minimalist' pixel art. Good job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]