Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Going Postal

by OxyOxspring - Jam Entry

Welcome to Dreamsdale, the happiest micro-planet in the aether!

As our newly-appointed Postie, it'll be your job to sort and deliver all of our charming little letters. You'll be the one entirely responsible for connecting our wonderful citizens!

We can trust you not to read the mail, of course... And you wouldn't even think about delivering letters to the wrong house! That would just be silly.

We hope you enjoy your stay in our idyllic little world!

---

Made very casually in 48 hours by Team StarBabies!

Design/Story by Mark Boyde Shaw (@Rulrite)
Artwork by Amelia George (@MiruzaLaBeeb)
Programming/Story by Sean Oxspring (@OxyOxspring)
Music by Will Bryce (https://soundcloud.com/easternscores)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#8Humor(Jam)4.26
#173Overall(Jam)3.54
#182Graphics(Jam)3.89
#210Mood(Jam)3.41
#212Innovation(Jam)3.36
#218Audio(Jam)3.41
#238Fun(Jam)3.29
#313Theme(Jam)3.32

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30am

Wow amazing graphics and super fun. I could play that for hours.

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35am

Humor, Humor! Art is awesome too. Thanks!

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I love how, art-wise, this seems totally innocent, but isn't at all. Such a lovely experience. Absolutely hilarious. Great job!

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Wow, really cool! Actually made me chuckle. I liked how the filthy houses were at the arse of the planet.
One little design thing that would be really helpful would be some indication as to which name was which house - there was a few to keep track of so I just clicked them at random to see where the letters would go. That's my only complaint! Hope you guys do well!

garygreen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Loved the graphics and the humour. It made me smile. :-)

ponywolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Nice overall. I was a little confused on what I was doing, but it was a neat experience. Worked like a charm on my Nexus 7 2nd Gen

Transmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:51am

Had a good laugh with this one.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:56am

Absolutely brilliant humor and writing.

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Good humour and graphic!

caranha says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:48am

Very good, loved the humor and the replayability. Thanks for the game :)

Squidtank says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Such a great idea and I love the humor. I started out by delivering a few letters to where they were supposed to go and then decided to send them all over the place. I do like the suggestion of some sort of indicator as to who lives where.

guimonpa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:21pm

This was really fun, nice writing!

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Great writing and humor!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:14am

I loved this game. 5 stars all around.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:19am

Nicely done. A nice pace change from all the action games I've come across. Solid humor in the interactions most of the time too.

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Good fun! Don't know if my choices actually lead to changes, but the OTPs are all over the place. ;)

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Ships! Ships everywhere! :P

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:01am

Had quite a bit of fun sending letters to the wrong people and seeing what their reaction is haha. Interesting ending; I have the feeling it would have been very different had I choose to do my job right. Graphics and audio were all quite polished. Good job!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Really cute art, music and humor. But what's the goal of the game (if I can call it game, so far)?

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:12pm

The idea of the game was that you'd effect the relationships between the characters depending on who you sent the letters to. Unfortunately we didn't have time to get the world's art to react to your choices.

There's three different endings to the town of Dreamsdale's story depending on your choices!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Music is awesome, I play it more on my Android just to listen to it more. Nice, nice everything. So cool. Thanks for the game.

Resonious says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:44pm

That was actually really amusing, and not an action based game. Nice work!

jpcote says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Good game, nice graphics !

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Great art and writing! Really unique concept too - excellent entry overall :)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Hi there. Strange... strange game. Played it for longer than I expected. Great artwork, humour, sounds and effects - the spinning planet, the various particle clouds, the church bells. Good job!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:54am

Nice idea! It feels oddly fun to mess with people mail :)

ClownAround says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:58am

Nice art.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Psstt... you are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C4uYyKDjxG8

Jod says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Nuns do not have super powers. Huh.

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:21am

Really cool. I loved the writing, and only wished that the choices I was making had a bit more of an impact. Was fun trying to predict the responses of the charcters once you got to know them a bit. Awesome work guys! Oh and the graphics were superb btw :)

OxyOxspring says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Thanks everyone! We really wanted to make the choices have a greater impact but unfortunately we ran out of time...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]