Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetbeam Z

by Dzarg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a world that is in a power struggle with an enemy world. You have to type the names of specific energy beam attacks to gain more power to your beam and overwhelm the enemy beam and annihilate the enemy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#839Overall2.93
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05am

rubbish

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

This FX is really impressive, but it would be better for another concept. A game about a "speed keyboard" seems to me annoying. Good game ++

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Hi there... great game, but then I type fast, got to Congratulations. Lovely graphics, shame no sound

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Nice special effects! I just wish you had tried to create more challenges with this typing mechanic instead of only making the levels harder by increasing the words ... But it`s a neat idea and I like it.

Also, IT`S OVER 9000!!

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Unique game. Great graphics, but the mechanic could've been deeper. Also felt weird with no audio.

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Awesome FX, I type fast so I was able to complete the game. Really fun!

Saphyre says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Nice :-)

smizmeal says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Great use of typing -- it is an underrated mechanic. It's a bit short, but its still a very fun and stylish game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]