Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Great Black

by Cryovat - Jam Entry

NOTE: If the star map looks a bit wonky or goes outside the visible area, refresh the page.

The Great Black is a single player card game about intergalactic trading. You own a shuttle that can fit six items (cards) and a modest amount of starting resources.

Your goal is to hustle your way to having 10000 credits by buying low and selling high.

As a player, you have three types of actions:

* Buy a card
* Sell a card
* Travel to another planet (costs one fuel)

Item availability and price vary from planet to planet. The planets will also only have a limited amounts of card available at a time (drawn randomly).

Fuel is a special kind of item. It can only be bought, and not sold or discarded.

Hints:

* Hover over planets to see what items are traded. Green means sold cheaply, gray means normal prices, other colors mean that you can sell at good markup.
* Not all planets sell fuel. Make sure you have enough fuel for the return trip.
* If you run out of money, or use your last amount of fuel going to a planet that doesn't sell fuel, you will lose.

Compatibility:

The game is meant to be played with a mouse on a computer. It needs at least 1280x768 resolution and a modern browser that supports WebGL. It has been tested in Chrome and IE11.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#111Theme(Jam)3.74
#270Innovation(Jam)3.22
#444Overall(Jam)3.13
#582Mood(Jam)2.71
#593Fun(Jam)2.65
#617Graphics(Jam)2.78
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

Chris_E says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:40am

Nice trading game. It took me a minute to figure things out, but then the interface was quite readable.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:06pm

nice idea, liked it :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Oh man. i feel like people who like economics and trading/crafting in online games would love this. but not exactly something i'm good at! lol

shashwat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Nice idea. I think the randomness is too strict, though. I can't always make enough good trades to survive.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Thanks a lot for the comments. :)

@shashwat: I wholeheartedly agree. I never had time to balance it, so you're pretty dependant on a good spawning location. :(

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Fun little trading game which is nice and simple to learn in a small amount of time.

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Not bad, the card system was interesting but easy to manipulate at times.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Great work! trading stuff was fun, I missed some audio though :( other than that. very nice!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:25am

I don't really play card games but it doesn't hurt to try some once or twice a year right? :D :D :D

This game was quite a surprise for me and one can spend good time trading goods and traveling between planets. Also extra points for webGL :D

Altourus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Lucked into a fuel + food cycle but otherwise was pretty hard to predict. Had quite a bit of complexity *thumbs up*

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:32am

It was a alright idea. - Flurkin

suve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:34am

Needs a bit of grinding between two planets at start, but gets pretty fun after that. Could use a warning when one's about to their last fuel on a trip to a planet that doesn't sell fuel. But other than that, a really cool entry.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Hi there. Liked the interface and the cards mechanic for the trading. Shame no sounds. Good job.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Pretty cool, if you could expand upon this and everything it would be amazing!

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Cards and randomness are two things I love in games :)

I had to restart a couple of times to get going, but it was very fun once I did. Would be cool to see it further developed.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Interesting game, though the starting point makes a difference, sometimes making the game unplayable and others with an easy to find exploit. Then the issue becomes one of repetitively mining the exploit. It would be great if fuel was treated as a separate resource, so it wouldn't occupy a card slot, and that the mechanics were not subject to said exploits. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]