Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Siphon - Ent Garr Fon Kull

by lotusgame - Jam Entry

Siphon - Ent Garr Fon Kull
A browser / flash game

_______
Authors :

Francois Provansal : Arcade / flash development
Sky GUNNING : Background machinery development
Gregoire : Map editor development
Ludovic : Graphics
Dmeat : Graphics
Flox : Sounds and music

_______
Technologies :

Client Flash : Flash (AS3)
Client HTML : jQuery + Javascript + HTML5
Server : PHP, MySQL
Design / Art : Photoshop

_______
Story :

Greetings, conqueror !

You are a proud member of one of the 4 mighty clans living around planet Delgacron !

In order to promote the sharing of the numerous resources between the clans,
the planetary general council installed a network of teleporters, lining together
all the chunks of land of the asteroid crown of Delgacron.

New technologies were developed with the sharing of rare resources.

But now, this is an open war where selfisness triumphs !

_____________
Description :

You arrive to a fresh, unexplored land.
Grab your pickaxe, and dig your way to the various resources under the ground.

Build some things.

Attack the other player's land to steal some resources from them ! But watch out for their defenses !

Go back home, build more stuff. Build defenses to slow down enemy players !

_______
Glitches corrected :

Flash : - the power "Deconnect towers" crashes the game
- dammage displays were behind characters
- jetpack crashes when used at the very bottom of the map
- computation of powers values corrected
- the second bullet of the "double fire" power doesn't hit the player anymore
- change some sentences to make them more understandable

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#63Innovation(Jam)3.79
#100Overall(Jam)3.69
#157Fun(Jam)3.45
#189Humor(Jam)2.96
#199Graphics(Jam)3.84
#204Theme(Jam)3.55
#243Audio(Jam)3.37
#416Mood(Jam)3.03

Comments

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Interesting concept for a game; you've got a cool idea.

Unfortunately, I could never figure out how to "connect device to siphon energy" Or was just touching the mine enough?

lotusgame says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:34am

Thank you awesomeusername for your interest ! You right, the sentence wasn't clear enough, so i change it. Thanks for the help :)

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:28am

I'm very impressed with the gameplay, well done.

damrem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:19am

Original, I like digging for building, but once attacking, I couldn't figure how to come back to my base...

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:25am

It seems to take too long to generate resources. It might work better for a full game but for LD the timescale is very long.

The game is really polished... I'm surprised you are able to do this quality of work and a complicated game in such a short time.

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:53am

awesome, very innovative

Rehacked says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:25am

Very good well done

lotusgame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:31am

@damrem : You have to wait for the teleportation portal to be recharged. I will change the sentence above the teleportal timer. Thanks :)

@Crefossus : We are 3 programmers (one for the server, one for the editor and one for the arcade) and 2 graphic artists. So, with a lot of excitement, we do a lot, but ain't got enough time to balance correctly the game :s

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Hi there. Web link does not play in browser, seems to need site registration. Not rated yet.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:37pm

@mrexcessive : Its just a login / password to keep you connected so you can come back the day after. Enter any login / password to play :)

trekapp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:51pm

well done!!

TautNerve says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:39am

Innovative and surprisingly complex for a ludum dare game.
Good job!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:17am

When I try to register I get the following:

Fatal error: Call to undefined method System::log() in /home/abacadaba/domains/ld30.lotusgame.com/public_html/Application/Controllers/User/Auth.php on line 95

:'(

Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:18am

Using Firefox 31.0 on Ubuntu btw.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:22pm

This was neat, but it felt unresponsive at times and I had no clue what I needed to build certain structures. This makes for a neat casual game.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:21pm

A really great entry! Great theme interpretation too!

A really detailed virtual world with lots of classic things to get players to stick at it farmville-style.

Its really difficult to make a multiplayer game for LD; I suffered problems getting people to play in LD24 myself.

Loved the graphics, loved the game's depth, loved the tech behind it all, wanted to see the kind of missile systems you blogged on the main page, but didn't really seem to have anyone to play with :(

tbam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Awesome game, super complex. Wish there were a few more base defenses, and that the resources generated a little faster.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:24am

Wow, this is really cool, I'll have to play some more later.

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:57am

great pixel work, very clean game with fun gameplay

CodeNMore says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:18pm

I liked it, its a cool concept! Just didn't like the click-mining :)

klianc09 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Great game you got there, it's just not the type of game I would normaly play.
It's a great concept, but invading the other players' bases was not interesting and rarely a challenge. Having to wait for the portal to open, although the world has no defences that could stop you was pretty annoying.
The resource gathering speed is about right when you would play it over the course of several weeks/months, but I think it is too low for Ludum Dare.
Also it would be great to be able to place undestructible blocks again, or else when you miss-dig one time you can't close the hole anymore.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Really cool game, great graphics and sound, and I kept returning to it every now and again during the day to build my evil, evil lair. Resource gathering speeds were probably a bit low for Ludum Dare - I saw plenty of levels where the player hadn't built anything. Also, as far as I can see there's pretty much only one useful resource, with all of the others used only for decoration purposes or in small amounts for tech research. My advice would be to split the useful items over more resource types; this would make the previously useless resources useful and make it easier for players to gather enough to build stuff for their own level.

teamawesome says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Great looking and detailed, but it just wasn't fun enough.

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:59am

Nice concept. In fact, it looks like a good, "normal" web-based game.

Dohan says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:36am

Very nice entry. Some people really know how to protect their resources!

binasa says ...
Jul 24, 2017 @ 4:42pm

Please let us know how we can improve this to meet the demands of your role in the IT Industry.http://downloadgoodfilesonline.top/media-video/ubuntu-stephen-lundin-pdf.php He said he had a way to make Nian leave them, but nobody believed him.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]